UGH

[you have to wonder when a post starts with “ugh”]

I had an appointment at 11 am today with my caseworker.

Lat night, before going to bed, I checked the public transport travel planner for route timetables. One can choose among several options, including least walking and least transfers.  The least transfer option included about 15 minutes of walking so I went with the least walking one, even though that meant one bus transfer. Once I chose that route, I went for the option that would take me there at 1o:40 instead of 11:00. Just in cases*.

With that info, I set my alarm, and went to sleep.

Got up this morning, had breakfast, took a shower. Only that once I was IN the shower, I realized I was still wearing underwear. Nice.

Oh well. I finished the shower, got dressed, headed to the bus stop and took the first bus. After waiting for about 15 minutes, I realized I was at the wrong bust stop!!! Had to go up, cross the catwalk and got to the right stop. At this point my phone decided to die on me. And it was fully charged when I left home. UGH

Well, that’s not really a terrible thing per se one could say. But guess where’s the only place I have the address for my appointment? Yeah, that.

Besides, being able to listen to music while I am out is one of my coping strategies.

Anxiety goes to the roof.

I asked the bus driver if he knew about the City of Ottawa Social Services was and he said he wasn’t sure. I said I thought the number was 3 something. He said I think I know….

We got to number 240 and he said, is it this one? At that point, I am very confused, I don’t remember the look of the building so I said, I think so and got off.

Of course it wasn’t the building. Of course.

It’s -20C, it’s snowing, my vision is very blurry and I have no idea which way to go. Now, don’t forget my stupid phone is dead so I don’t have a way to look at the address, a map, or call to let them know I am late and lost.

I made an executive decision and decided to go west.  Several blocks later (and almost at the point of giving up) I found the building.

Got in the elevator and just as the doors were closing, I heard someone say “hold it”. So I pressed the open doors button and three guys came in.

As it turned out, we were all going to the same place. AND, all the three guys – very tall and with legs a lot longer than mine, got to the info booth before me and now I am fourth in line. Well done guys. No wonder they say that no good deed goes unpunished.

Anyway, I finally got to talk to the receptionist, she took my name and told me to take a seat. About five minutes later, my caseworker comes to get me.

I apologized for being so late but he was very gracious about it.

And that’s when I lost it.

It’s funny how a little kindness can open the gates so easily.

My case worker was very helpful and understanding. We went through a lot of forms [ugh, red tape] so he can help me with some things I need. They are even taking care of the copay for the ambulance bill from last December. That is a great relief.

Then it was time to go home. I got to the bus stop, and after waiting for what felt like half a lifetime but really must’ve been no more than 20 minutes the bus came…. and went right by me without stopping.

Sigh.

I decided to walk home.

But not without a quick top at the mall for some food

What kind of lame-ass fortune is this? Who wants to do finances in bed?!!!

And some chocolate therapy

20140129-163151.jpg

I am in my room now and I don’t want to have to leave it ever again.

EVER

Footnotes

* 20 brownie points if you got the Love Actually reference

 

