Of Beavers and Canadiana

There’s an ongoing joke on Twitter right now about Beaver vs Bieber.  That reminded me of a note I wrote on FB a long time ago (can’t believe it’s been three years).  But before that perhaps I should give you a bit of a background.


@BailaConNatalia designed a very cute Beaver logo for the Ottawa Swing Dance Society.  At that point I was an executive member of said society.  Unfortunately, I can’t find a picture of it at this moment.  That logo was used on the website, the Flickr site and the t-Shirts.

Soon enough, some people voiced their disagreement with the logo adducing it was very inappropriate.  Some emails made my jaw go to the floor! A guy even say that it was very unlady-like of me to promote the Society with a beaver.  It is really too bad I can’t find a photo.  It was cuteness overload.  

Anyway, this is what I wrote in response:


Of Beavers and Canadiana

by Claudia Petrilli on Wednesday, September 19, 2007 at 7:48pm

OK, I am an immigrant. I followed the normal immigration proccess. I first became a permanent resident (formerly known as Landed Immigrant) and then I became a Citizen. A Citizen of Canada!!!! One of the few things in my life -beside my children, of which I am very proud.

In order to become a citizen, I had to pass the the Citizenship test. So, I was given a book I had to study. I learned some things and I refreshed some othesr that I had learned just by living here.

I learned about the confederation, the Canadian Flag, and other Canadian symbol such as the Beaver.

Cute little furry creatures, beavers are. I find them amazing.

Wikipedia defines Beavers as semi-aquatic rodents native to North America and Europe. The beaver works as a keystone species in an ecosystem by creating wetlands that are used by many other species. Next to humans, no other animal does more to shape its landscape.

So, yadda, yadda, Beaver is a Canadian icon, featured in our currency, the nickel! or 5 cent coin.

I’ve seen tons of cute beavers featured in several government documents. The beaver is the first symbol in the symbol page of  the Canadian Heritage website
So, it really blows my mind that some people have such a dirty mind as to think that a beaver logo has sexual connotation.

Sure I understand that sometimes the word beaver can be used to denote certain part of the female anatomy. Though luck.

You would think that people in their 30’s and 40’s would be mature enough to understand that context is everything?

You know the saying “beauty is in the eyes of the beholder? well I think that dirtyness is in the eyes of the beholder.


How could any one possible think that this little cute beaver is obscene or has a sexual connotation? pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease!


There you go, my thought for the week!

Got something to say?

