Movember Musings

Hopefully you all will know by now this year I decided to join Movember.


As a result, this month has been quite the journey.  And a very happy one.


First of all, doing something for others makes me happy.  Second, it was a LOT of fun.  I got to be creative, come up with fun ideas to engage people and to attend even more parties.  After all, I’m a social butterfly! ;)  Or as a dear friend of mine once said, a true renaissance social butterfly. 


One of the things I enjoyed the most was my Mo Tour.  I decided to wear a moustache for a full day and – for a $10 donation, have a picture of me taken at the place of their choice in Ottawa and then post it on FB and Twitter.


A good friend of mine offered to drive me around and take the pictures just because he’s awesome that way.  He picked me up around noon and off we went.  We started the tour at the Hintonburger, a burger shack in Hintonburg and we ended it at Bar 56 in the market.  I collected almost $100 in donations.


The best part? I also collected a lot of smiles that day.  What made it even better was that most people already knew about Movember.  They would see me and immediately point at me, smile and say: Movember?


So, fellow Digital Challenge team members and all Mo Bros and Mo Sistas, WE’VE DONE A GOOD JOB!


And those who didn’t know what Movember was at that point now do.  And how!


I had the chance to talk to a lot of people, hear their stories (virtually everybody knows someone who has being diagnosed with  Prostate Cancer and even died because of it), share a few laughs, make new friends.


I decided stop for lunch at Little Italy.  Went to my favourite spot, Pasticeria Gelateria Italiana and while I was ordering at the cash, the girl starts laughing and she yells “hey Bobby, you have to come and see this” so as it turns out, this Bobby – one of the cooks,  is a Mo bro as well! needless to say I got a picture of the two of us :)





Sitting at one of the tables was Paula Ibbotson.  She was intrigued by the stache and came to ask what it was.  She had never heard of Movember so I explained the whole thing to her and she offered to donate $10 if I would be willing to help her with her cause.  She was auctioning her wedding dress and it was on display on the second floor, where the wedding cakes are.  So upstairs we went and got our pic taken 





It was a great day.  I got home quite tired but very happy.  I had tons of fun doing it.  Will I do it again next year? ABSOLUTELY


And it’s now quite over yet.  If you haven’t had a chance to donate, despair not!  reach out to your closest Mo Bro or Mo Sista and show them how much you appreciate their efforts.  Or donate to me! [insert angelic smile here]


Claudia’s mospace

Remember, one in six male Canadians will get diagnosed with Prostate Cancer.  That’s a scary statistic.  And that’s why we do it.  Because we love the men in our lives!


See you again next year

2 thoughts on “Movember Musings

Got something to say?

