Now, it’s like this, little Britches

This past Saturday marked my return to Saturday Night Swing.  After a long hiatus from Swing Dynamite’s dances due to -mainly, my injured ankle, I was back both as the manager for the night and as a DJ in the Vintage room.



I Deejay-ed from 9:30 to midnight at which point Jean Francois Harbour took over the turntables.  My ankle felt strong enough and I was feeling rather adventurous so I decided to take a chance at some dancing.  I asked my friend and frequent aerials partner Dave Anderson to dance with me.  And much to my delight – and to the surprise of the other dancers when they heard me squee, The Bare Necessities started to pour out of the speakers.  Dave didn’t understand what was going on.  I told him my excitement came from the song being played and he asked what was the name of the song and why was it so exciting.  Apparently he has never watched The Jungle Book.  I let it go.  Trying to explain why the movie is so amazing – for starters, and why this old favourite of mine has come to have an added, even more wonderful meaning was too much at the moment. There will be some other time for explanations.

Besides, the song was being played in all its playful goodness.  Why waste any time talking when we could be dancing?

And danced we did!

Needless to say, I had the most wonderful time.  

As soon as it was over I ran (I know, rather irresponsible of me considering how accident-prone I am) to the DJ booth to thank JF for playing the song.  He told me – and this is awesome, that he got it because he saw that Louis Armstrong video I had posted on FB a few weeks back.  

The circle was completed.

I only wish the Bear would have been there to witness it.  I know he would’ve got a kick out of it.

The clip from the movie

The clip that prompted JF to buy the song and play it last Saturday
Got something to say?

