Shit my kids used to say Ep 2

[I really need a better title for this posts]

This one is from my son

He was about 4 years old.  I don’t know exactly what’s the equivalent in North American school system but I think it was something like junior kindergarten.

Now, let me give you a bit of a background here.  I have a fairly light-coloured skin (for a Colombian) and pretty much everybody in my family is the same.  Blondish hear and hazel eyes – or even blue or green, are not that uncommon.  My ex-husband’s family -on the other hand, has native blood in them and they are much darker than me or my family.  Both my kids have their father’s skin colour.  However, they had never seen a black person (should I call them African-Colombian? I never know what’s the politically correct name anymore and I don’t mean any disrespect to anyone.  You see, in Colombia, being called black -or even blackie,  is not an insult).

Anyway the bottom line is that my kids had never seen a truly black person before.   And here’s where the story begins.

I went to pick them up after school.  We chatted a bit with their teachers and then said good-bye.  On our way to the door, we ran into a man -very obviously a parent there for the same reason, to pick up his kid.  I had never seen him before.  Very tall, well-dressed.  Very elegant and handsome.  We exchanged hellos and I tried to keep walking by my son -who was holding my hand, was not moving.  I gave him a little gentle pull but he refused to move.  I looked down and saw him looking at the fine gentleman who at this point, had picked up on my son’s reluctance to move and was also looking at him.

And then… and then… my son blurts out at the top of his lungs: “MOMMY, MOMMY, THIS GENTLEMAN LOOKS LIKE A CHOCOLATE BAR”

At that point, I let go of his hand and said  to the gentleman, “what a cute kid.  I wonder where his parents are.”

Could the ground open up and swallow me, please?

28 thoughts on “Shit my kids used to say Ep 2

  1. Sword-chinned bitch says:

    Tehehehehe! Your response is funny as well. I stopped over in Utah with my boyfriend on a cross-country trip. The people were very nice and all wanted to talk to us — they were all blonde from the Nordic diaspora — they hadn’t seen black people before — my boyfriend said ‘They’re being friendly because they just want to make sure we’re just passing through.” Ahahahaha! A little girl almost tripped over her feet staring at me trailing behind her mom! I loved it! I felt like the Queen of Sheba! I almost felt like they’d come over and start touching our hair and our faces and such!

    • Madame Weebles says:

      I wish I could have seen that, Sandee. That must have been a wild scene. I embarrassed my mother greatly once when I was about 4 years old and I wanted an afro in the WORST WAY. And my mom and I were on the subway and there was this woman with the best, most perfectly round afro I had ever seen and it was beautiful. So of course I screamed, “Mommy, THAT’S the hair I want!!!” My mom wanted to evaporate but fortunately the woman thought it was funny–she was probably thinking, look at that little pasty little white girl wanting an afro!

      • Sword-chinned bitch says:

        Yeah, Mme. Weebles, we definitely felt like we were in foreign territory… Oh, Mme Weebles — your story’s hysterical! I love hearing stories like this — I wish I could have been there to hear that — veeery cute! See, my post the other day said I didn’t want to show the picture of my behind because in it my afro gave afros a bad name in case any of the readers ever wanted one! Great story!

  2. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Word is my sister said something similar when she was really little. Thankfully, we both learned at a young age (just not that young, I guess) that there’s such an array of different nationalities, races, and ‘looks’. I am wondering – did you stick around long enough to catch the man’s reaction?

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Oh my, of course I did stick around. I had to make sure I apologized and stuff. Fortunately, the gentleman thought it was funny. He said not to worry and actually had a little conversation with my son. Pheew…

  3. clownonfire says:

    SSG,
    My sister, at a very young age, went towards the table of an older gentleman in a restaurant and asked him: Sir, when you scratch your skin, does the dark skin come off? True story.
    Le Clown

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Oh, is this a sign of the apocalypse? Le magnificent Clown is back to my blog!! ;)

      Ah, aren’t kids awesome? Of course, when people don’t take themselves too seriously, it makes for really hilarious moments :)

  4. Ruby Tuesday says:

    This is a direct violation of my present self-imposed comment ban, but all I could think of was the expression, “Out of the mouths of babes. . .” Perhaps a title for this series, or, “out of the mouths of mi bebe” in recognition of your native tongue. On that subject, did I get that remotely right? I’m picking up Spanish in bits from my cousin (well, cousin-in-law)?

    (BTW, don’t worry I’ll be offended if you think that’s a crap title. I took Vicodin for a migraine earlier, and it makes me sometimes creative and sometimes just odd. ;) )

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Oh? I didn’t know you had a self-imposed ban but I am honoured you felt like breaking it for my silly post :)

      I actually like “out of the mouth of mi bebe” only that in this case, it’ll have to be “mis bebes” cause I have two. Jen of Sips of Jen and Tonic suggested ““Out of the mouths of babes” on the first post of the series so I am now seriously considering it!

      And you got it mostly right! :)

      Oh! How about this one? “Out of the mouths of [MY] babes” would that work? (as in, it is clever enough or cute enough or something)

  5. purpleowltree1234 says:

    I love the innocent state kids are in, and the perfectly innocent things they come out with, which would be heard very differently coming out of an adult’s mouth. :)
    Love from Rach (PS I refer to myself as a whitie) :)

Got something to say?

