Quantum of Solace Girl

For many of you, it isn’t news that the Summer Solstice Girl is a geek.

I have a strong background in science and at some point I was considering going into Astrophysics.  I was a member of the Astronomy Society in my home town and I even got published once for a little article I wrote on the Perseids Meteor Shower.  I was a keynote speaker for a National Amateur Astronomer Conference too.  Good times.

I heart physics.  I am also a James Bond movies fan.  So, as it happens often in life, the universe conspires to make you smile.  I was already in the middle of writing this post when something else happened.   So I decided to change the original title of the post from “Quantum Physics and Lindy Hop? Hell yeah!” to what it is now.

My little Solstice heart got very happy when my friend Krister Shalm – a fellow scientist AND Lindy Hopper, decided to use Lindy Hop to explain a particular problem in quantum physics.  In fact, I was happy delighted to the point of being ridiculous.  Yes, the SSG very often makes a fool of herself. Cause the SSG doesn’t take herself too seriously.  And that’s why the SSG has SO much fun all the time!

Anyway, my friend’s TEDx talk is FINALLY on YouTube.  And I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t blog about it.

The full TEDxWaterloo talk that unveils Project Q. Skip to 13:10 for the start of the dance routine.

If you want to learn more about about Project Q, please visit Dr. Shalm’s site

18 thoughts on “Quantum of Solace Girl

  1. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Quantum physics? Entanglement? Keynote speaker at an astronomy conference? I think I love you!

    Seriously, this is a great post and I’m glad to learn of this side of you. Me, I’ve read about it and watched remarkable videos about it and yet the entanglement thing still befuddles me.

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      hahahahaha

      I know what you mean! I love all of my fellow bloggers too! And I am DEFINITELY in love with your blog!

      **OK, calm down SSG, that’s a fracking lot of exclamation marks right there.**

      Yeah, I still try to keep up with physics and astronomy but now that I finally found my blogging voice, re-kindled my drawing interest and went back to training, I’m finding it too hard to be a renaissance SSG. There’s only so much I can do.

      Also,it was a lot easier when I was single too ;)

      [not that I’m complaining. Bear, you still rock!]

      Oh, and then there’s little Satchie too….

  2. clownonfire says:

    Dear SSG,
    Could you please explain to me what is TEDx?
    Le Social Media Clown
    PS: If the sarcasm is not thick enough, I’ll take Concerta myself.

Got something to say?

