Another present to myself? Why not!

Since y’all have been so supportive of my new hobby and all, I decided to throw the house out of the window and get some art supplies.

So, this afternoon I convinced the Bear to go with me to the art store (cause it’s more fun that way) and got me this beauty!

20120615-000836.jpg

 

I probably shouldn’t have spent that much money and I’ll definitely have to tighten my belt for the rest of the month but I am SO excited about all the things I’ll be able to do now!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go draw something….

16 thoughts on “Another present to myself? Why not!

  1. purpleowltree1234 says:

    Ooooohh! Seeing these beautiful pencils makes me grin! :) Colours! I can even smell them from here on the other side of the earth to you! Mmmmmm!
    I’m eager to see what fun you have with these lovely colours. :) I think one of the most inspiring things to do art, is new art supplies. Enjoy, SSG! :)
    Love from Rach.

      • purpleowltree1234 says:

        Ohhh, the smell of colour mediums is so often heavenly. Takes us right back to early childhood, just like you said. :) The smells of crayons and pencils make me grin like a happy child. I heard (you can correct me if it’s wrong, because you’ll probably already know) that the “smell” processing part in a human brain is the closest sensory part to our memories. Thus smells are often more closely tied to memory than any other sense of ours.
        I’m so glad you’re enjoying the smell of your beautiful new pencils. :)
        Love from Rach.

        • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

          Yes! Most of my strongest memories are associated with smells. And when I smell them, I immediate get the memory. It’s quite nice cause it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :)

          Another one is -believe it or not, Vicks VapoRub. Memories of being taken care of and happy :)

  2. Fred says:

    You all need to know that when we went to the art store last night, SSG’s eyes lit up like a kid at Christmas. It’s quite a sight to behold. Very cool. :)

Got something to say?

