Maybe this is my secret?

So, I deal with Mental Illness(es). Clinical Depression, PTSD, anxiety. However -and unless I’m going through a particularly dark period, I am a fairly cheerful person. Bubbly even*.

I have been asked several times what my secret is. I usually say it’s a combination of lucky events like a great support network of family and friends, an incredibly supporting therapist, etc.

And today, I saw this on Facebook:

I did a google search for this image trying to find the original poster so I could give credit where it’s due but found only several Facebook posts with no link or credit. If you know the source, please let me know

I have a vague memory of seeing something like this before but I don’t think is was a quite as visually striking at this one.

Now, let me set it straight.  I am not claiming I KNOW how to do it.  I don’t do it on purpose (I don’t think).  It just so happens that I do it.  But the truth is, the upward spiral is HOW I do it.  Nobody taught me how to do that so it is not my intention to tell you all, here, this is what you have to do.  Now do it and be happy like me.  No.

But I do believe there must be ways to work on it.  Perhaps not everybody can be the eternal optimist that I am.  But I’d like to believe there’s middle ground somewhere.

Also, I am not saying that I never experience doubt or disappointment.  That I never worry or get frustrated or even angry.  Of course I do.  I wouldn’t be human if I didn’t.  But it never spirals down like in the picture on the right.

Not much of a help, I know.  But I thought I’d share it anyway.

* That’s after I slayed the Rage Beast.  Before that, I wasn’t bubbly at all.

8 thoughts on “Maybe this is my secret?

  1. Madame Weebles says:

    That graphic is great, whoever created it. This is one of the reasons I’m glad I’m older now. When I was younger it was so much more difficult to wrangle my thoughts and moods. Now I feel like I’ve got a better handle on things and don’t get swallowed up by The Badness as easily.

    Cheers to you!

  2. alundeberg says:

    I’ve been on both spirals, too, and I think part of the secret is having things in your life that you look forward to and are challenging in positive ways. I think your secret lies in blogging, dancing, and your kids. You have a lot in your life to look forward to everyday.

Got something to say?

