The Song of the Chosen One (Part II)

The songwriter asks God.  I don’t.  Whom I (or you) ask is not important.  What’s important is that I ask.  That I don’t want to be indifferent to suffering.  To the horrors of war.  To people dying of starvation or preventable illnesses.  To torture.  To rape.

That I won’t be indifferent to people spending $2000 for a pair of shoes when that same amount of money could have saved a family in South America. That I won’t be indifferent to billions of dollars spent in weapons of mass destruction while entire communities die of AIDS in Africa.

All that I ask
is that I will not be indifferent to suffering,
that I will not come to the moment of my death
having failed to do what I could.

All that I ask
is that I will not be indifferent to injustice,
that I will not merely turn the other cheek
after the first has been clawed.

All that I ask
is that I will not be indifferent to war;
it is a terrible monster that tramples
people’s innocence.

All that I ask
is that I will not be indifferent to deceit;
if a traitor cannot be stopped from having his way,
at least let it not be soon forgotten.

All that I ask
is that I will not be indifferent about the future,
despairing like those who have to abandon their homes
to make a new life in a foreign culture.

Please, don’t let me be indifferent. Ever.

8 thoughts on “The Song of the Chosen One (Part II)

  1. sdunnebacke says:

    I can’t like this enough, SSG. I think I’m privileged to count you as a friend, or whatever it is that blogging acquaintances are.

    The world needs more folks who think like you do.

Got something to say?

