It’s a Soapbox kind of day

Good grief.

I looks like I can’t get down my soapbox today (a couple of posts on Facebook too)

I apologize.  But like I said before, I can’t take the side of the oppressor by being silent about their stupidity discriminating opinions.

So, I came across this article and I just have to share it here because I think it is well written.  Or at least it expresses many of my sentiments about the issue

5 REASONS WHY THE CHURCH FAILED YESTERDAY

I really have to get around writing that post on my view on religion(s), before I get labelled as a religion hater.  I am not a hater of any kind.  My therapist can attest to that.   He’s mentioned how he finds it interesting (medically-speaking, I suppose) that I’m so completely incapable of hate.

Oh, I’ll use the word.  As in, I hate heat.  Or I hate asparagus.  Or I hate stupid people.

But I don’t really “hate” so that’s not it.  I may be guilty of intolerance against intolerant people*, though.  Go figure.  How do you go around that?

I particularly like this part of the post:

Once in a while, our culture needs to see us being a part of the solution and not the problem. But yesterday? There were no surprises. And no surprises only builds more distrust, not peace, not grace, not hope, and not love.

For many reasons, but most importantly because my beef with religion -the Christian one on this particular case since the Chicken Fill-A owner is “Christian”, is that they claim to be based on love.  L.O.V.E.  And I am not talking about Nat King Cole’s song.

I’m talking about the “thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself” kind of love.

So, I can’t help but wonder how can anyone in their right minds figure out that they love their neighbours just as they love themselves, except when those neighbours happen to be/think different.  How convenient.

And THAT’s why I agree with the author when he says the Church failed yesterday.

* I also may be guilty of intolerance against stupid people.  See Meizac & Fear No Weebles posts.  Yikes.

10 thoughts on “It’s a Soapbox kind of day

Got something to say?

