T minus 20 hours

Yesterday was all about doing laundry.  Four loads each.  We’ve been quite busy and never got around doing it.  That took half a day and the worse part is that when I come back, I’ll have to do all over again.  But I don’t care much about that right now.

Today was about getting last minute shopping done.

And now, the packing begins!

20120822-203326.jpg

Dress for the Lindy Hop comp courtesy of my awesome daughter. I got to the studio for team practice and she said, I have a present for you! It was this dress :)

20120822-203339.jpg

Dress for the Balboa comp

I still don’t have new shoes.  All my dance shoes are worn out and full of holes.  I’m hoping to find a good deal at the venue, but I’m not holding my breath for it.

Before I go any further, I want to say that I have no expectation whatsoever of placing.  I’m not even expecting to make it to the finals.   Even though I’m the Open Division and not the Advanced one, the level of it will be very high.

Sure, I’m in a much better place than I was back in April when I started dancing again.  But I haven’t had any kickass training like before the injury.  Yes, I’ve been training with the Summer Bootcamp team but it is an entry level team.  The hard core training will start in September when I audition and join the Jam Crew.

But I am competing, not to win (at least not this time around) but to prove to myself I can still do it.  And have tons of fun while I’m at it.

Now, as much as I am looking forward to this event, the real trip starts on Monday.

A trip that started a long time ago as a dream in the mind of an imaginative little girl, reading National Geographic magazines in a country far away.

20120822-203359.jpg

Pencil case

20120822-203408.jpg

Sketch pad, colour pencils, pencils, etc.

20120822-203416.jpg

My journal of awesome and my fountain pen, to write down all the awesome things I’m gonna see and do

20120822-203423.jpg

My super cool backpack with built-in lunch bag. Water bottle and lunch container included. Birthday present

SMITHSONIAN, HERE I GO

4 thoughts on “T minus 20 hours

  1. Sophy says:

    Oh! The dress is so cute! I almost died a little bit of jealousy when I saw the bow-belt. You’re going to look ab fab, I tell you that. Have a scandalously good time!

Got something to say?

