This year, I’m prepared

For Mental Illness Awareness Week (MIAW), that is.

Last year, it took me by surprise.

But this year, I ordered the materials last month and I got them yesterday.  Posters, brochures, bookmarks and wristbands.

I have them on display at the studio now.  Some of my fellow team members work in the health field so they took a bunch of them to display at their workplaces too.

There was a time when I would rather die than admit I had a mental illness.  There was a time when I thought people would run away from me if they knew.  That I would lose my job and nobody would hire me ever again.

But not anymore.  I now understand that if I am not open about my illness, I am contributing to perpetuating the stigma.  If I don’t feel comfortable talking about mental illness, mine, my children’s, my friend’s, I am only making the paradigm even more rooted in our society.

So I’m wearing the orange MIAW wristband and I’m hoping a lot of people will ask me what it means!

Resources

6 thoughts on “This year, I’m prepared

  1. Nicole says:

    I dint know about this week—so glad you and others were ready!! Wristbands are a great conversation starter; I never found one I liked so my hubby made me one. People ask me about it all the time! Hats off to you for raising awareness and being open about your disease

Got something to say?

