I went sailing

For the first time.

It was fun.

It was also a bit scary. It was a very windy day and at some point, the sailboat was so sideways that we weren’t seated anymore but standing perfectly vertical, with our feet to starboard and our heads to port. I thought we were going to capsize. But then I was told a boat like the one we were on was built in such a way it would never capsize.  I don’t know if I can believe that.

After that, we took the main sail down because it was too much for such a windy day and continued sailing with the front sail. That made the experience more enjoyable for me.

Weather-wise, it was such a lovely day (bonus points for those who get the reference).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All things considered, I did well.  I only hit my head twice.  One with the boom before we left the marina and once with a stupid cabin hook when we were putting everything away at the end.  I made one mistake while tacking.  It was quite funny, actually instead of getting mad at me, my fellow “sailors” just laughed.  I was supposed to let of of the line at the precise time.  But instead of waiting for “three”, I let go on “one” and we lost speed as everybody was laughing at me.  Oh well.

It was a fun afternoon but I don’t think sailing is for me.  My head still hurts and I have two nice bumps on it.

2 thoughts on “I went sailing

  1. the howler and me says:

    I have been sailing once… but I didn’t have to do any of the work… AND it wasn’t rough….
    I thought it was calming, the motion, the sound… If I could just sit and soak it all in, I might do it again….

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      I hear ya. The times when I was not banging my head against things or thinking we were going to capsize were fun. I enjoyed the water and the wind and it was truly a beautiful day with a perfect blue sky, so that was good :)

Got something to say?

