Why yes, this is a rant

A Halloween bash is a tradition at Swing Dynamite.

It’s a very fun night and people are always commenting how much they enjoy it.  We have the usual: Prizes, chocolate and various candy, decorations, a photo booth.

But each year about this time, I start looking at costumes and I get the same frustration.

WHY IS IT THAT MOST COSTUMES PLACES ONLY THINK OF SELLING “SEXY” COSTUMES????

Yeah, cause the whole point of the story was for Red to have sex with the Wolf.

Don’t get me wrong. I have NOTHING against sex. Sex is fun. Sex is great. Part of the trifecta. The triad. The trinity. The perfect threesome.  Food, sleep and sex.  Best three things in life. OK, arguably.

But when I think of wearing a Halloween costume, I am not thinking of group sex party.  So, why most of the costumes are sexy this and sexy that?

We are used to sexy bunny costumes and sexy kitten costumes. But sexy cookie monster? Really?

I don’t do sewing.  I’m a very unmartha kind of woman. I can’t even sew a button to save my life.  But it would seem that if I want to have a great costume that doesn’t involve showing more than half of my boobs plus that part where my legs join my bottom, I have to make it myself.

I know I have what it takes to wear one of those (i.e: big boobs). But I ain’t gonna be wearing them outside the bedroom.  Or maybe the kitchen… hmmm.

I digress.

Yes, I know.  It’s all part of that eons-old objectifying culture.  I know that.  I still don’t like it.

But a girl can rant every now and then, right?

Sorry about the yelling.

And for the record, people do come up with wonderful costumes every year.  And we always have a great time.

25 thoughts on “Why yes, this is a rant

  1. NZ Cate says:

    You have every reason to yell, so yell. It makes me want to yell too but in my part of the world, halloween isn’t big so I don’t need to worry (or yell) this time. :-\

  2. No Blog Intended says:

    A few months ago, I was searching for something to dress up like as well, but I share your pain: all costumes feel cheap and look slutty! And that is very annoying. In the end I bought some second hand clothes and I dressed up as Chanel – classy, with a skirt that even came to my knees :). And I felt sexy, not slutty.

  3. Anita S says:

    I have to admit I like sexy costumes, but as you showed, some things are just not meant to be sexy. Ugh! I actually don’t dress up at Halloween, but if I did, it would be in line with my nickname: Gata Chica. LOL

  4. hutchagoodlife says:

    Our Mummy is looking for an outfit right now as well. She wants to know why every outfit seems to be a corset and tights!

    Luckily she can sew, so she is going to buy something and customise it to be less . . . revealing!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Yeah, I just started looking and was overwhelmed by the initial searches. Also, I don’t have a big budget and that also limits the search. Usually the “sexy” ones are more affordable than the ones I like.

      I just want to look pretty and be able to dance in it. I don’t want to be a walking sex ad

  5. Angel Fractured says:

    You could do what a lot of people I knew in college/grad school did. Go to Goodwill (do they have that in Canada?) or any other thrift store and buy random clothes to put together creatively. Or just be creative in general. Think of how you could put random things together. One year I bought a few Christmas things and fake teeth, then painted my fingertips white (more than just the nails). I was frostbite, see?

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Oh yes, we do have something called St Vincent of Paul’s store which is like a goodwill store and we also have Value Village which is not a charity but it still have things at very good prices. A lot of our students get their stuff there. I just have been very unlucky when I’ve been there cause I haven’t been able to find anything nice my size and I’m not good with needle and thread to make my own alterations.

      Frostbite? That’s awesome!

  6. DeeDee says:

    I just don’t even bother with costumes – never have the time/inclination anymore, and I use up all my thinking on other stuff than clever costumes. I don’t go out and party or even get trick-or-treaters on my street, so there’s really no point.

    Yeah, that’s a kinda bah-humbug way to be about it. I really like Halloween, but I too will have nothing to do with Objectification Outfits. Besides, my boobs are too big to fit into any of them!

  7. Monday says:

    Here’s what I think about the Cookie Monster costume: I would totally dig that as a sleep shirt. ;-)

    If I dress up for Halloween, I just grab some stuff out of my closet and put it together (usually involves leggings) then I paint my face with something – anything. You can tell people you are a fairy who lost her wings. Last year I went to a party dressed as Sam from Stargate SG-1. One year I went dressed as the superhero Rogue – all you need is a white stripe in your hair. Get a long flowing skirt, a similar style top, and wear a bandanna in your hair – gypsy. If you want a pre-fab costume, there is always the nun – no skin there. ;-)

    Just some ideas. Good luck! :)

  8. Sword-chinned bitch says:

    Yeah, let it out let it all out SSG! I hear you! I guess the best bet is making up your own. I may be a man this year — the character from Henry: A Portrait of a Serial Killer. Good luck with coming up with something.

  9. randy says:

    hi how do you get to this party…invite???
    are you a person with an illness as well???? want to know…should have shirts and orange bands everywhere lady….you have great ideas miss or mrs.

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      The Halloween party? It at the Swing Dynamite studio. And people don’t need an invite, just show up but it is not a party, it’s swing dance.

      I have several mental illnesses yes. And we have the orange wristbands at the studio for everybody to take

Got something to say?

