The Devil You Know

Some of you may remember that back in March, I had a fundraiser campaign for my training as a Childhood Sexual Abuse Prevention Facilitator. The campaign went well and even though I didn’t get all the money I was asking for, I did get trained in the Stewards of Children program from Darkness To Light. Then life happened, we scheduled a couple of workshops that had to be cancelled due to low registrations but two weeks ago I finally had the chance to facilitate my first workshop!

Cynthia Bland and I, at the workshop. Photo courtesy of Pam Dillon

I was a bit nervous because it had been quite a while since the training but it went well. We had two women from Montreal attending as well as Pam Dillon, the editor of the Ottawa Family Living Magazine.

Pam wrote an article for her magazine which she titled The Devil You Know

I love the article – and not just because it says I did a good job, but because it’s a candid recount of what went into Pam’s mind and the truths she had face. I particularly like this part:

When Cynthia Bland invited me to attend a Voice Found workshop about childhood sexual abuse, here’s what happened.

I hesitated.

Three hours? On a Saturday?

I thought of my messy house, with its dust bunnies doing hip-hop parades under  beds.  I thought of Laundry Mountain looming, Everest-like, and bruised bananas crying to be turned into muffins and the sanctity of the newspapers-reading ritual on Saturday mornings.

Yes, I’m passionate about child advocacy, but surely it could be put off for another time.

That’s when my head exploded.

Nobody wants to give up a Saturday morning, I no less. It was – and always be for me, a sacrifice to get up at 6:30 am on any given day. Besides, who wants to give up sleeping in on a Saturday to go listen to depressing statistics and hear heartbreaking stories? It’s not an easy thing to do. But we need to face reality and learn the facts of Childhood Sexual Abuse. That’s the only way we can hope to prevent it.

And so I’ll continue to get up at 6:30 am on Saturdays if that means I can help prevent one sexual predator from robbing the innocence of a child.

PS: Thanks again to all of you that helped me raise money by reblogging and donating so I could get trained.

14 thoughts on “The Devil You Know

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    Good for you, you are doing something that has value beyond measure. It’s a ripple effect, you know, and the people to whom you spread awareness will help so many others.

    I’m so proud to know you (well I always am, but this is another example of how truly wonderful you are).

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      aaaaaaaaw shucks… you’re making me blush!

      Back when I was a practising doctor, I saw so many children brought to the paediatrics ER because they had been victims of all kinds of abuse, sexual abuse being one of them. It was horrible. I promised myself one day I was going to do something about it. Now I am, in my own little way

  2. Sandee says:

    This is great! It’s inspirational. I’m thinking now about ways I could contribute or help to some cause. Thanks SSG for all you you! You’re a special lady.

Got something to say?

