Musing about my blog

Someone recently told me they had stopped reading my blog because it had changed. That it was light and funny at the beginning but it had become an online journal.

I was dumbfounded. I didn’t think my blog had changed directions at all.

I thought about it for a while (cause that’s all I do, I think and I think and then I think some more).

Then I realized this person had started reading my blog when I moved it to WP. They didn’t know it from its humble Blogger beginnings.

I had blogged plenty about my mental issues during the Blogger days. Then, as I moved the blog to WP, I was hitting a period of my life where I had different things to blog about.

Then, it occurred to me that I had an “About Me” page but not an “About this Blog” one.

Naturally, I immediately created one.

The thing is, this blog is about my life. About my journey through it. Thus I blog about whatever I’m thinking at the moment. Whatever interests me. The things I’m passionate about. About being an immigrant in Canada. The experiences I have on the journey of my life.

So yeah, my blog is definitely an online journal.

That is why it is called Summer Solstice Musings Or The Adventures of the Summer Solstice Girl in the Great White North.

And since I deal with mental illnesses, sometimes my adventures will be serious and sad. But some other times, my adventures will be happy and exciting.

HOWEVER, I do want to find a way to keep this blog a bit more organized. I’ve been looking for a solution and even got my name registered for a website but that didn’t go anywhere.

In any case, now that I’m part of the Canvas family, I figure that most of my musings about mental illness will go in there. Not all, but most.

In summary, my blog – just a myself, is a work in progress. But at least, now people stumbling upon it, can get a better idea of what it is about!

The Summer Solstice Girl

The Summer Solstice Girl

18 thoughts on “Musing about my blog

  1. Le Clown says:

    Claudia,
    You may or may not be referring to me. But I did write you personally to let you know why I haven’t continued reading you. Personally, it’s not that I thought you were “light and funny“ in the beginning, and suddenly took a turn to the serious and dark side. Yes, in my opinion, there was a shift in your writing, not so much that it became serious and dark, but extremely personal, and often enough, in my opinion, too personal for my own taste. As a reader, it is my prerogative to read what I choose to, from a random blogger, or a blogger that is a friend. You as a writer and blogger, it is your right to take any direction you want, and use blogging any way you want to. It’s the beauty of this communication platform.

    I lose and gain readers myself. Some of my readers prefer reading content written by “L’Éric”, and can’t take the obnoxious voice of Le Clown. Some others think I offend and go too far. And I respect this. But as a writer/blogger/artist, I will continue to explore and maintain my voice, and lead it in the direction that I want it to. The more I do so, the more I gain a stable fanbase. But no matter how dedicated I am to maintaining my different messages, I will continue to lose some readers, even loyal ones, and gain new ones. I might have a post that will be too much for one, and that will be the trigger: one reader less. There are so many great bloggers out there, I am confident that there is a voice for everyone, and that whatever they can’t find on my blog, they can find on a fellow writer on this wonderful blogosphere.

    I did myself use blogging to convey my own personal feelings, and the tribulations of our own personal lives, and I did get a great deal for it back. Even though I will sometimes indulge in sharing my personal stories, it is not my main focus as a writer, even if I understand the great outpour of support I can get from such revealing posts.

    I wish you continuous success in your blogging endeavor, Claudia, even if I do not read personally. To keep an on-line journal is such a powerful way to reach a wider audience, especially when dealing about mental health topics, and can be very helpful to others, and yourself.

    Much love,

    Eric

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Of course! That’s why you don’t see me complaining about losing readership. This post is not about that but about the realization that I didn’t have a section where I explained what to expect from this blog.

      Again, I write about what I muse about and today my musings took me to an issue I had been thinking about for a while that was finally mature enough to put into words.

      Happy Holidays to you and your lovely family! I miss you all.

  2. The Itty Bitty Boomer says:

    Claudia,
    We all individually blog for so many reasons – to educate, entertain, inspire, share personal experiences for all of the same reasons – and however you blog is …., well, how you blog! And if the significance to you is to be an on-line journal, then it is going to be a whole series of ups and downs, arounds and throughs, happys and sads … just as life is … just as you say.

    And as Eric says, some will like it, some won’t. Write for yourself – those who will be touched by your words, find meaning or truth in your words, will find you.

    Just one reader’s opinion!
    Itty Bitty

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      That’s precisely it. I started the blog to help me understand myself better. Then I realized that I was not alone in this journey and that some people were going through the same issues I was. That I was not alone in the fight and was definitely not the freak I thought I was. I discovered that there were people out there actually interested in reading my posts.

      Through my blog, I have learned to let go of the self-imposed stigma of my mental illness. To me, that’s probably the best part of it.

      I know that readers come and go. And while I do write in part so others can benefit from my experiences (you never know, maybe someone will be inspired to blog about theirs as well and that will help them as it has helped me), the main focus of my blog hasn’t changed. I blog for myself.

      All that said, I immensely appreciate the sense of community I have found here. It has helped go through dark moments and that is invaluable :)

  3. hutchagoodlife says:

    Whee are guinea pigs so whee don’t really care if people want to read our blog. As long as whee have food, cuddles and our good steady furfriends whee aren’t bothered. Whee love making new friends but if they think whee are crazy or don’t ‘get’ our blog that’s their problem not ours. Someone told Mummy that she was a freak for doing this with us but she thought it was more freaky that they sat down to write a long email to tell her why!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      HAHAHAHAHAHA

      You are absolutely right! Sitting down and writing a long email to complain about a blog is a lot worse.

      Well, Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil, you know that my kitties Jay and Satchie also have their blogs and that’s alright with me! ;)

  4. Lunch Sketch says:

    Your blog : Your choice

    If you want to please readers and grow readers – post what pleases them.
    If you want to please yourself – post what pleases you.
    If you want to do both … well … ummm … good luck with that! ;)

Got something to say?

