I’ve Got Rhythm

The holidays are over. It’s back to work for me today.

And now that I have my dance thinking cap on, it’s time for me to start thinking about events I would like to go to this year. It’s funny because my calendar if filling up quickly without me even trying.

First, I’m going to Swing A Dance in Quebec City in February. Mainly because Natalia was invited back to teach (this time around with boyfriend). She came back last year saying she had loved the event. So, since those two are going, I’m going too because the trip is free for me :)

Swing A Danse

Natalia’s last name, frenchified!

It looks like I’ll be spending my birthday in Toronto. Fancy that. Just today I got an invite for a Blues event in Toronto, on the weekend of my B-Day. It’s a franchise called MezzJelly and it happens in a different city every time. I was one of the DJs at the MezzJelly Waterloo and it was a blast. Also, I had 20 plus people singing happy birthday to me while I was standing half naked, having just stepped out of the shower, completely unaware the place was now full of people celebrating my birthday. There may or may not be photographic evidence of this. When I got into the shower, I was completely alone and never heard anyone come in. I was probably singing very loudly. So I kinda have to go to this one. The organizer has accepted the challenge to top my birthday celebration!.

Then there’s the Ultimate Lindy Hop Showdown in New Orleans in October. New Orleans is in my bucket list and I’ll try my best to make it happen this year. That probably means I won’t be going again to the International Lindy Hop Championships in DC this August. That’s how I got to cross the Smithsonian from my bucket list. I can’t do both so ULHS it is.

IMG_1950

I guess I’m very lucky the cities I want to visit also host amazing dance weekends. It makes it easier to find travel pals and therefore bring the costs down.

If I can make it happen, it’ll be the same as DC. I’ll stay a week either before or after the event, to explore the city. Imagine, the birth place of Jelly Roll Morton. Of Sidney Bechet. Of Louis Armstrong. The craddle of Jazz and Blues!

Down in New Orleans where the Blues was born, it takes a cool cat to blow a horn

Ah, New Orleans, beautiful city of Jazz, Blues, Mad Dancing, the Mayfair Witches and Claudia the Vampire. Can’t wait! There’s a certain house in The Garden District I shall most definitely visit.

And then there’s  of course, Lindy Focus in Asheville, NC. Always wanted to go to that one. Can’t think of a better way to ring in the new year. Provided that I can convince my daughter to come with me. That will mean to convince boyfriend to come to. That one is going to be a tricky one. Not convincing the boyfriend. It’s just that there are too many scenarios. Maybe we’ll all end up spending NYE in different cities, N in Colombia, boyfriend in Vancouver and I in Asheville. But there will be plenty of time to worry about that.

So, I’ll leave you with some dance silliness.   This clip is part of the show all teachers put on at Lindy Focus every year. It involves three of the top Lindy Hoppers in North America. Bobby White is mostly known for his Balboa but he also has mad Charleston skills. Apparently his singing is… well, the guy’s almost perfect, let’s cut him some slack here.  The other two are Michael Jagger and Nathan Bugh.

They got rhythm. They got music. They got each other’s backs. Really, who can ask for any thing more?

Enjoy the silliness and Happy Monday

10 thoughts on “I’ve Got Rhythm

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    New Orleans is worth it, so worth it, I’ve been there twice. But believe you me, it is also often very dangerous for a woman/women traveling alone. Please just trust me, I know you know about dangerous, so there must be a reason I am telling you this, yes? It’s still the city of my heart, though, and you must see the cats that sleep on the motorcycles outside the police station (if they still do, put sending you pics on my to do).

    Just don’t drink in the French Quarter. At all. Sound advice from a kind policeman.

    Sounds like a great year, though! Maybe we should plan to meet up! I’m still gunning for Pensacola in August. I just have to look at silly little details like prices for accommodations! ;)

  2. "HE WHO" says:

    Sounds exciting! I should have kept up the tap dance lessons (I took one when I was 6 and did not go back to the 30 girl and me class). What a difference 8 or 9 years would have made in that decision. Michelle and I live in Toronto. We can’t dance but love to watch! Maybe we’ll see you in June.

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      oh, cool. You can always take up dancing. No age restrictions. There are several good swing school in Toronto. I also plan to be there in March for a Balboa weekend with Bobby White, which I forgot to add to the post

Got something to say?

