I Pledge My Commitment To Be Mental In 2013

er…. I mean….

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

Yes, that’s it. Everybody knows I’m already mental so I don’t have to pledge to that. The Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project is an “A Canvas Of The Minds” initiative to bring awareness of mental illness, the stigma associated with it, the struggles of people dealing with various mental illnesses and any other topic related to Mental Health. This how it works:

1.) Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013″.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

4.) Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know!

Pledge five of your fellow bloggers who have stood with you, and have proven their mettle in your eyes as mental health bloggers.

5.) Please include the link to the original post in your piece

The Original post is Blog For Mental Health 2013. Or  you can also click here and leave a comment containing the link to your pledge, so you may be added to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Official Blogroll page.

Show the world our strength, show them our solidarity, show them what we are made of.  Take the Blog for Mental Health pledge and proudly display the badge on your blog!

Given that I am very vocal in all social networks about my struggle with Mental Illness (and the fact that Ruby told me so! -really, one doesn’t want to incur in Ruby’s Wrath) I have no choice but to gladly take the pledge.

Thus, this is my story:

In a galaxy far, far away… No, that’s the wrong story. Let’s start again.

Once upon a time in a kingdom far, far away… Wrong story again. Jeez, did you take your meds today?

Fine. It was not a kingdom, it was a good old regular country. A third world country at that. A girl was born there. From the very beginning, her life was a struggle, her being premature and all. But the little girl survived and as she grew up, bad things happened to her. She put them in the back of her mind and kept on trucking. She discovered she was very different from the other kids at school too. She couldn’t sit straight for too long and she got very bored with all the classes. She was fidgety and easily distracted. Naturally, her teachers didn’t like this too much but fortunately for the girl, she had excellent grades so the teachers left her alone and looked the other way when she didn’t hand her assignments on time or when she would get up from her desk and start walking around. But most of the time, the little girl was so lost in her own world anyway that she wasn’t too much of a distraction for the rest of the class.

As the girl approached her pre-teen years, she was already carrying a lot of anger inside. Never quite understood why back then. To be honest, never quite questioned the anger either. Angry was her natural state. Most people never noticed it. In fact, most people, including teachers and family, always thought she was the epitome of normal and an example for everyone else. In her teens, the girl noticed that she was often sad without a cause. She also noticed that thoughts of death became a frequent theme. But mental illness was not something that was openly discussed in her country so the idea that she might have a mental illness never even crossed her mind.

The girl kept growing and bad things continued to happen to her. She lost her mother and by extension, her father. Later on she got married and had two kids.

One day, the girl – now a woman, realized that she had given up her childhood dream and decided to correct that. She applied herself to study, took all the required tests and applied to Medicine School. 2,000 people from all over the country applied and were fighting  for 25 spots. She placed 12th and the following year she started a new stage in her life.

It was during one of her classes that she realized she might have a mental illness. She was taking psychopathology and they were describing the Major Depressive Disorder. She decided to talk to the professor giving the lecture about it. The professor – a psychiatrist, agreed to see her at her private practice.  It was here where her journey of discovery started.

However, it wouldn’t be until years later, after she moved to Canada and and was well in her thirties, that she found a doctor she could trust, that she truly understood the nature and the depth of her mental illness.  For starters, it was not illness in singular. It was illnesses.  She realized that those memories she thought safely buried in the darkest recesses of her mind were just one trigger away to come back to hunt her. That all the nightmares that plagued her nights were the result of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder…

[laughter]

What now?

You’re funny. Must you speak in third person when talking about yourself? 

Shut up and let me be happy.

Hey, I’m just trying to help. Please continue.

Hmrrrph. Where was I? See what you’ve done? Now I don’t remember what I was going to say.

It’s ok. I’m sure they know the rest of the story. After all, they have been following your blog for a while.

But what if there’s someone new reading this post?

Well, just tell them you’re still learning about yourself and how to cope with mental illness, then. 

Yeah, I guess…

Besides, it was supposed to be a short story, remember?

Oh, you’re such a pest!

The story doesn’t end here, of course. It seems like I’m doomed to write several more chapters.  I take my meds every day. I go to therapy. I blog. I have good days and I have bad days.

But I’m determined to make a difference and this is why I am committed to the mental health cause. Taking the pledge is just a natural addition to it.

As for pledging other five bloggers, I’m at a loss here. I can only think of a couple that haven’t been pledged by Canvas already and for all I know, they might have been pledged already by someone else. The problem of frequenting the same circles as my fellow Canvas bloggers. So please forgive me if I don’t give you five.

I pledge:

Anita from The Bipolar Dance

Rainey from Rainey Daze and Crazy Nights

Sid from Dad Knows. He’s just starting his journey so I don’t know if he’s ready to take the pledge.

Note: Please know that you are by no means obligated to take the pledge. If it feels like too much of a burden right now, feel free to decline.

13 thoughts on “I Pledge My Commitment To Be Mental In 2013

  1. Human In Recovery says:

    SSG,
    Nice to officially meet you! Thanks for the pingback. It is a process of self discovery, yeah? I just found out last night through connection with a highly educated and supportive friend that I likely have been dealing with Cyclothymic, a “mild” form of Bi-Polar…chewing on that one.

    I appreciate your humour in dealing with the seriousness of it all. I clicked follow, we’ll see exactly how much following I can actually do, but I will try to check in, as we’re on this journey together.

    Blessings,
    Kina

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Hi Kina! Very nice to meet you. I hear ya. There are so many wonderful blogs out there, I struggle to keep up with their stories. I laugh with them, I cry with them and I wish I could visit their blogs on a more constant basis but I guess that such is life, right?

      Best of luck with your journey!

  2. Lunch Sketch says:

    SSG. I know you have good and bad days. I know there will be more of both to come – such is life with mental illness. But I have so often found you to be a posting ray of sunshine. Thank you! :)

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Aaaaaaaaaaaaw thank you!

      You know, so many kind people have helped me get to where I am, I’m happy to return the kindness in any way I can :)

      That’s why this community is so wonderful. Take your sketches, for example. Sometimes they make me smile, sometimes they make me shed a tear or two but they never fail to make me think. They’re very touching every single time.

  3. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    SSG, your support and influence has already made a difference. They’ve helped get me to this beginning. Since, like you said as well, it is a beginning, I’m not only new to this group of fabulous bloggers already pledged to this. I’m also ill-equipped to write very eloquently or even offer much of use – but I will continue to write, and I’ll do what I can with this pledge of yours.

    Oh, and apparently I was scared of this post for no good reason – no tears this time.

  4. Ruby Tuesday says:

    I love this post so much, SSG, and I love the approach that you have taken. I also love the connections that are being formed between so many new and different bloggers.

    And I love that apparently everyone (it isn’t just you, it’s a trend lately) is afraid of incurring my wrath. Good to know I inspire that kind of fear! ;)

  5. rainey says:

    Thanks for everything, SSG. You are an inspiration to all of us Mentals…or is it mentees? Anyway, thanks, I will follow up on this when I feel able. ~Rainey

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Of course. I chose you because you are already talking about mental issues so in reality, all you have to do is continue to do what you already do :)

      But later on, if you feel like it, you can write a post about it.

      The last thing I want to do is to add more stress to your life. HUG

  6. indytony says:

    I just took the pledge and I’m dropping by to say hello to my cohorts in crime. So…

    “Hello.”

    I appreciated reading some of your story and look forward to reading future posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other along the way.

Got something to say?

