That dreaded four letter word

Guess what?

I listened to all your advice and went for waiting until Christmas to give out on being back to my old me and giving away my pretty dresses and skirts.

It also has to do with the fact that most of the costumes I have to wear belong to the dance school. They were bought and fitted for me. Staying at this weight would also mean a lot of altering for those costumes and I am not even sure some of them can be altered to accommodate that much extra weight

All that means of course is one thing. The one thing I’ve never done. D-I-E-T

And counting calories. Le ugh.

So, I finally broke down and started a diet… of sorts. Within a few hours of my Dilemma post,I got two private messages from two different friends (one in Colombia and one in Canada) who are going through the same issue and they offered their advice. They both recommended this nifty app called My Fitness Pal.

I downloaded it immediately and started to play with it. The learning curve was a bit steep but after a couple of days I got the gist of it and now I love it.

It helps me keep track of the calories I am consuming, the calories I’m burning and lets me know how much I can eat. It’s quite good. I didn’t have to stop eating anything I like. I am still having dessert, for example.

20130207-025323.jpg

Here’s an example from today. At the point when I took the screen shot, I still had 748 calories left. So I had ice cream :)

The first two or three days, I was hungry (and grumpy) by the end of the night. But that was my own fault as I didn’t exercise at all. Didn’t even leave the apartment at all. Therefore I didn’t get extra calories.

It’s a lot better now that I getting into a nice routine. I input all the walking I do, and any kind of exercising Most days I get to the evening with a lot of calories left for the day and I get to have a treat because of that. Three days ago I had red velvet cake. Today, I had a cup of ice cream.

I thought that keeping track of calories was an annoying thing to do but now I can see I was mistaken. Well, let me rephrase that. Keeping track of calories is not difficult. You just write them down and the it’s just a matter of doing the math. You hardly even need a calculator for that.

The annoying part is figuring out the calorie count of each food. And that’s were My Fitness Pal comes handy. This app makes a world of difference when it comes to keeping track. You just type in your food, hit search and it gives you a list you can choose from. It even scans bar codes so you dont’ have to do a search. For some foods that are home made, you’ll have to manually input the info but chances are that someone else already did that for you. Every time a user uploads the nutritional info of any given food, it becomes part of the food library and it is searchable. Just the food nutritional info. Not who uploaded it.

I set my goal for 125 lbs. And I gave myself three months to lose those extra 15 lbs. So the app tells me that for that goal, and given my size and current weight, I should consume 1240 net calories per day. If I don’t do any kind of exercise, then that’s all I can eat. But if I do exercise, then I’ll have to eat more to keep the goal, which was the case today. So if I exercise, I don’t have to go hungry and I still lose weight. Isn’t it awesome?

It is not recommended to have less calories per day than the number that is good for you because your body will go into starvation mode, shutting down your metabolism to conserve energy and therefore defeating the purpose.

Now, I’m eating healthier, I’m not hungry anymore and I am already starting to see results!

I think this diet thingy might work, after all.

Thank you so much for all your encouraging comments and your great advice!

20130207-030510.jpg

Oh yeah, this was dinner today. Shish kebab plate

The moral of this story? There is an app for that!

(I **HEART** living in the 21st century)

10 thoughts on “That dreaded four letter word

  1. aliceatwonderland says:

    I don’t have a smart phone. Sadface. But I do have a Nook. I will see if it’s available on that device. I just signed up for Sparkpeople – I think that’s what it’s called, and it seems similar. So is the Livestrong thing. I have a few posts about this weight-loss / exercise thing – very experimental, and so far not doing so well. The Livestrong one freaked me out with the only can have this many calories and do this much exercise – it was confusing deciding what type of exercise I really did . . . anyway, working at it. Thanks for this info.

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Oh yeah, check it out, maybe it is available for the Nook

      I am sorry to hear you’re not doing well so far. I don’t have any experience with Livestrong of Sparkpeople. I use RunKeeper to keep the log and counting calories for when I go walking, skating or rollerblading and I like it a lot. Then I manually input the calories on myfitness pal.

      I guess I lucked out because it is the first time I ever try anything like this and I am quite happy with the way it is going.

      Best of luck!

  2. Stacie Chadwick says:

    That dinner looks great. As do you. I’ve heard of the app before and it seems like people really like it. I had 10 lbs to lose after my last child was born (before there were apps) and the way I did it was by writing everything down. It definitely keeps you accountable, and makes you second guess those empty calories (like finishing off the kids mac n cheese, eating an extra brownie, etc). Good luck, SSG. I’ll be rooting for you!

  3. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Good idea to post this for the world to see, SSG. This way, we’re prepared. Otherwise, the shock of you looking even better than you do now might have been too much to take.

    As I read, I glanced at the open box of Cheez-Its next to me a couple times, started thinking about my suits that fit a younger me, and am now thinking I need to check this calorie-counting business out.

    Inspiring again, you are!

    (And the box of crackers is now closed. Hrmph.)

Got something to say?

