Oh hai 2014, you suck already

Well, so much for hoping 2014 being a better year for me.

On Friday, my son -for the first time in his life, had a seizure. His girlfriend found him convulsing and called my son’s father (who is a pediatrician). His father came and while on their way to the hospital, my son had three more seizures.

He was admitted and taken to the Intensive Care Unit.

There, my son was found to have Rabdomyolysis and acute kidney failure.

Fun.

Today (Sunday) he’s still in the UCI although his father tells me he’s kidney function seems to be improving and there is a chance he can be moved to a regular hospital bed pretty soon.

However, he’s still in critical condition.

And my heart weeps cause I am not there to take care of him. That is a very hard thing for a mother to take.

Luckily, my daughter had a trip scheduled for this month. She just landed in Bogota and will be in our hometown tonight. That makes me feel a bit at ease knowing that she will be with my son.

So yeah. Not a good start for this year.

Hope you guys are having a lot more luck than me.  Hugs and love to all of you. Don’t forget to hug your loved ones and tell them that you love them every day.

Offspring 1 & 2

Offspring 1 & 2

22 thoughts on “Oh hai 2014, you suck already

  1. Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA says:

    Ugh, so sorry to hear! Blessings for a complete recovery….I take it your kids/ex live in Colombia still? So far away! Sending you blessings for strength, and that your son may recover quickly and completely!

    Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA “Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead.”–David Farragut, at the Battle of Mobile Bay

  2. savemefrombpd says:

    SO SO SO sorry to hear this.

    That’s not a good start to the year but that doesn’t mean it can’t get better. And I hope it does for you.

    First and foremost, I wish your son better and hope that things can be done to stop this happening in the future. That must be very scary. So my initial blessing is for your son’s recovery… On from there, I hope onwards and upwards from there.

    All the very best xx

  3. Lunch Sketch says:

    I read this a few days ago and had no time to add a comment, but made time to send off a few prayers for you and yours. Really hope your son is continuing to recover well!

Got something to say?

