As Luck Would Have It

And just because it’s me….

There is a complication from the dental surgery.

Of course, there is a complication. There had to be one. It’s me, remember?

Do you recall how swollen my face was after the surgery? Little by little, it went away, just as it should.

But as luck would have it, the swelling returned about week ago. I noticed that it was more prominent in the morning and it was almost gone in the evening only to return the next morning.

Damnation, curse and malediction.

It all ties up like this.

The day after the surgery, me being a curious little doctor and all, went to bathroom and with the help of my iPhone’s flashlight (my pen flashlight from my hospital days died an honorable death a long time ago) applied myself to inspect the area. Among the stitches on the buccal mucosa (the inside lining of the cheeks) I noticed a hole.

This of course is not a good sign. Sigh.

“Oh well” I said to myself. Now we just have to wait and see if it closes on its own, won’t we? After all, it’s us, myself.

Then the swelling went away. But not the hole.

And then, the swelling came back.

Long story short, the hole in the lining is the opening of a fistula connecting my left submandibular salivary gland with the side of my mouth in a way that should never be connected.

<anatomy lesson>

We all know we produce saliva, right? Saliva is produce in little factories called salivary glands. Human beings have three pairs of salivary glands: Parotid, sublingual and submandibular (see illustration). That means three glands on the right side and three on the left side.

DEN_salivary_glands

© 2010-2013 Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp

Each gland has a duct (like a little hose) to send the saliva into the mouth. They act like a little garden hose that is continually bringing the water from the water tap to the garden (also pictured in the above illustration). That is how we get our saliva near the tongue where we needed for eating and keeping the mouth moist.

</anatomy lesson>

But now, thanks to the fucking fistula, my submandibular gland is draining onto the side of my mouth AND it is infected.

So, coming out from the lining of my left cheek, is an exudate made of cells, proteins and solid materials mixed with saliva.

In other words, fucking pus.

Coming out of the lining of my left cheek.

Yes.

Nice, eh?

Damnation, curse and malediction.

Current state of affairs:  As of last night, taking antibiotics and praying to all the gods that ever existed or will exist that the infection does not spread to the bone. Cause that fucking shit is scary. Getting an infection out of a bone is… I don’t even want to go there.

So, how’s your week so far?

23 thoughts on “As Luck Would Have It

  1. Cate Reddell says:

    In New Zealand the semi-polite way of expressing feeling at reading this is to say ‘BUGGER!!!’. But really I’m saying ‘Fuck this and stop picking on my friend. She’s had more than her share of troubles’ to whoever is listening. I’m also hoping, praying and whatever else (maybe dancing to whoever seeing it’s you) that the infection heals and doesn’t spread. Lots of love.

  2. Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA says:

    Sonuvabeech. Have you, uh, gone back to the oral surgeon to have it I&D’d? sounds like it needs it, if you don’t want a necrotic cheek. I so, SO sympathize with you. The first (and last) time I had a wisdom tooth excavated, the dentist (I couldn’t afford a proper surgeon) hit my maxillary artery with the anesthetic needle, I got a huge hematoma, and it got infected with some weird mouth bug, and I was on antibiosis for fucking months. Sending you good juju for a speedy recovery, but somehow I think this one is going to take some further surgerizing to get fixed. Hope I’m wrong.

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      Holy crap. Poor you. I am always uneasy when it comes to oral infections. Those damn bugs are freaking hard to kill. I really, really feel for you. Retroactively.

      And yeah. I definitely need another procedure to close the stupid fistula. But we can’t do that until the infection is under control. This is the second round of antibiotics in less than a month. My stomach is not happy. I am sure you know exactly what I’m talking about :P

      • dinaleah says:

        Thank you, darlin’. The good news is that once the bugs were dead, everything healed up just fine and my trigeminal nerve was not impacted, as it might have been. All’s well that ends well, and I’m hoping this ends well for you as soon as may be expected, which I hope is very soon. Much love and healing energy coming your way. Visualization is really powerful, if you can do it. Visualize the macrophages cleaning up the mess, and the wound healing from the inside out, leaving no nasty pockets, healing all the way up and the fistula closing. The fistula is doing its job now, letting the exudate out of the infected tissue. Soon the infection will be gone, and the fistula’s job will be done, so it can close spontaneously, or maybe need a tiny stitch or two. Blessings.

  3. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    I still don’t know what to say about all this, except stop planning these maladies when I’m not there.

    You know you’re getting all the love and I’m-there-for-you vibes I have to give. I just wish I could do more. Be confident I’m having a chat of sorts with the gods, because you… have… had… enough.

    Holding.

  4. freddy says:

    WTF? That’s nasty. I know you’re taking care of it but I hope it it heals sooner rather than later. You know, because pus.

  5. Mrs Bipolarity says:

    Well that sucks! I’m so sorry to read about this. You poor thing! When I had my wisdom teeth out it was verrrrrrrry traumatic and I’ll spare you the details but it involves me crying my way through the whole surgery because of a reaction to the anesthesia and totally scaring the heck out of the doctor and nurse…and ya. Let’s just say, it get this.

    So sorry!

    Also, btw, I’m becoming a Canvas author soon, wanted to come get to know you and your blog!

    Wishing you well soon! Speedy recovery!!

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      Oh boy. I am very afraid of dentists and dental procedures, so had I been awake for mine, I am sure I would have cried from beginning to end. UGH

      Many thanks, I am doing much better now :)

      And how great about Canvas!

  6. Dianne Wing says:

    Get thee to the doctor! You cannot do this yourself. And I have a multitude of dental problems that need attention within the next few months…argh! btw, I wanted to ‘Like’ this but word press wouldn’t let me.

Got something to say?

