A Sidlet wanted a Fairy Garden…

One fine afternoon in Lansingland, Sidlet 2 said she wanted a plant for her room. The Sidlets room has a lovely window with a nice window ledge that is just perfect for a plant. So a couple of days later we went to get a plant. While there, I saw all this cute thingies and suggested making a fairy garden instead.

Needless to say Sidlet 2 thought it was the best idea ever. We got all the things we wanted, which required going to three different stores (Thank you Sid and Sidlet 1 for being so patient) and then we got to work!

We cleared the table and set all our stuff. I took a short bathroom break and when I came back, Sidlet 2 had drawn a garden plan! That girl is impressive. I thought I had taken a photo of it but I can’t find it but you can sort of see it in the first photo of the gallery.

When we were getting the thingies (good grief can’t think of the proper name), Sidlet 2 wanted to get potting mix. I thought it would make the garden too heavy so I suggested we got something else. In the end, it would have been better to use the soil. We had trouble making the bird house, the lattice and the street lamp stand straight. With the soil, we could have just stuck them and the whole thing would have been a lot more stable. Or even flower foam.

Oh well. We made do with what we had – namely, ThinkGeek shipping stuff, a cereal box and clay, and she was satisfied with the final product.

Next time I am in Lansingland I might still redo it using potting mix. We’ll see.  In the mean time, there is a very happy Sidlet and that’s all that matters :)

 

14 thoughts on “A Sidlet wanted a Fairy Garden…

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      Hey! I meant to drop you a line last week but then… squirrel…

      I know, right? Sid and I saw the shoes and we just had to buy them. Just the day before I found out that Sidlet 2 and I are the same size so got got the teal pair and the coral pair and then gave her one of each and I kept one of each. She absolutely loved the idea. Sid tells me she wears them to school every day! :)

      How are you?

      • Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA says:

        OK, dish: how many pairs of shoes are in your closet??? I have a friend who has a closet just for shoes. When you open the door, shoes come tumbling out!

        You really ought to start a business with the mismatched shoes. I thought about doing mismatched socks for years, because I wore them (“I have a pair just like them at home”) and somebody scooped me on it. Meh. But you are so cute with those Sidlets! I’m OK.

        • Summer Solstice Girl says:

          oooooooh, I don’t know… about 30 pairs? Maybe more? I have shoes in my closet, in the hallway closet and in the hallway. At least ten pairs of those I am wearing in this post in every colour, red, navy, black, white, orange, etc. Then the high heel sandals, pumps, dressy boots, plus the dance shoes (like ten pairs), hiking boots, two pairs of tennis shoes (from when I could actually play tennis), gym shoes, summer shoes…. Do rain and winter boots count?

          All of my sneakers have laces in different colours. I’ve been wearing mismatched shoes for decades.

          Sidlet 1 always wears mismatch socks. That’s her thing :)

          Glad to hear you are OK!

Got something to say?

