Losing Control of my Sanity

At least in this case, a good deed didn’t go unpunished.

The neighbours managed to turn me into a nerve wreck.

I can’t sleep. Every time I hear their patio door open my heart skips a beat. I am also very jumpy.

Anxiety levels are up to the roof.

They continue to make loud passive-aggressive remarks on their deck, I guess in hopes that I hear them. And I do. Unfortunately, this house seems to be made of paper.

The house was turned into a quadruplex, two units on the first floor and two more on the second. I can pretty much hear everything my next door neighbour within the same house. I can perfectly hear which tv show he’s watching. Or was, because he moved out.

When my neighbour down below does laundry, the whole house shakes and it sound like the washer is in my unit instead of hers. When the washer is in the centrifuging part of the cycle, my whole place shakes. I have often made jokes about this.

So it doesn’t come as a shock to me that I can hear very well everything that is said on the next door house deck or even what the neighbours say inside their house if their windows and mine are open.

I don’t know if they know this but I am certainly hearing all their threats, insults and the like.

And that is certainly drilling a whole in my sanity.

So wish they could be charged for causing me to become ill.

7 thoughts on “Losing Control of my Sanity

    • purplemary54 says:

      I agree. Document everything. Write down times, names, what was said, record it. Take photos. Get good pictures of all the animals, and notify the Humane Society as well. Make sure everyone knows what’s going on.

      You might also get acquainted with the other neighbors, and make sure they know what’s happening. The more people you have on your side, the better. If you have legal aid handy, you might even get a cease and desist letter, if that’s an option in Canada. In the US, that’s often enough to get someone to stop being a jerk because of all the legalese involved. It should go without saying that you document that, too, and send a copy to the cops.

  1. Cat says:

    I am so sorry to read this is causing so much stress. Is there any kind of police liaison officer or video and record them?

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      I have no idea what happened after the cops talked to the neighbours. I know I should call them to follow up but I… sigh… too much anxiety for now, I guess. I’ll try and do it tomorrow

      • Cat says:

        I understand the stress, but it might be worth letting the police know if their childish behaviour continues. Let the nasty neighbours see from the outset that you will not tolerate it. They don’t know you’re secretly crumbling behind closed doors, like I would be in the same position. Hope it settles

Got something to say?

