Karma

karma.

Karma is a strange concept. 

It is kinda nice to think that if we are wronged, karma will come around and bring some shitty luck to the wrong-doers. 

Kinda. But not really. 

In the heat of the moment, it may be of some weird, twisted comfort to think that. But I don’t think most people are truly comfortable wishing bad things to other people… I know I  am not. 

Oh, I know I say all the time that I wish terrible things upon animal abusers. Or children/women/the vulnerable  abusers. 

But in reality, I don’t. 

So when I hear things like “don’t worry, what goes around, comes around” or “Karma will take care of them”, I am unsure of it being a good thing. 

Besides, if karma truly is a thing, what terrible deeds did I commit when I was a child? 

I mean, it has to work both ways, right? Cause why should it affect others but not affect us?

So I am inclined to think that the Karma notion is just a big heap of horse shit. 

Because that means I have to have been a real asshole at some point in my life and I don’t have any memories of such thing. 

On the other hand, does an asshole know they’re an asshole? 

Something to ponder about … 

  

9 thoughts on “Karma

  1. purplemary54 says:

    Karma says that what you put out into the universe will come back to you tenfold. Now I know that you were dealt a pretty shitty hand before you had a chance to even put very much out into the universe. So either something from a past life is haunting you, or you are due some very good stuff, because I see you putting a lot of light and love into the universe.

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      I must’ve been a truly evil person in my past life, then. And that is precisely my point. However, Tibetan Buddhists do also believe it is possible for a highly evolved soul to come back to a life of suffering for a purpose. They believe a person knows this and still chooses to be born again knowing very well it will be a life of hardships and pain. Go figure

  2. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Karma is definitely an interesting notion. Probably all of us can say that we must have done some pretty terrible things in previous lives and some pretty wonderful things in previous lives as well, based on what we have at the moment. All I know is despite everything else to the contrary, I must’ve been pretty marvelous before because I have you now.

Got something to say?

