All in a day

Yesterday was one of those days.  

Well, to tell you the truth, it started with the day before yesterday. 

I went to the Humane Society to see two found tabbies that could potentially be Satchie. 

No dice. 

One wasn’t… the other one had already been euthanized. 

Came home and cried a fair bit. Of course. 

Then yesterday another tabby showed up on the HS’s website. And by George, she looked like my darling tornado!

Well friends, it wasn’t Satchie.

So close, though. She was very affectionate and looked so much like Satchie I had a hard time convincing myself that it wasn’t even after all the evidence. 

We spent some 40 minutes trying to figure out if she was or not. The technician was very understanding and even called a more experienced one to handle the kitty so at least we could see if it was a boy or a girl cause the info wasn’t in the chart . It was indeed a girl! Heart thumping hard!

She had the same soft fur, very similar markings, and she was so comfortable with me it was easy to pretend she was the little pest. 

In the end, and thanks to the million pictures of Satchie I have in my phone, we were able to see that this sweet girl has some circular markings on the left side of her face that Satchie doesn’t have.

She is also more on the brown side while Satchie’s coat on the back and legs is more on the silver side. 

I wanted her to be Satchie so much it was like I was willing her to be. 

Alas, it was not to be.

Now I fear for that sweet girl. It looks like her tail is broken. I hope she is deemed adoptable because she has so much love to give. It’d be a shame if she ends up being euthanized. 

At this point I was trying hard to hold the tears back as I sill had some business to do at the shelter. I went back to the other side to pick up this little beauty

  
Her name is Munchkin and I’ll be fostering her for the next few weeks. She is 8-9 weeks old and on antibiotics for an upper respiratory infection so I have to be careful to protect Jay and miss Kaylee. 

Munchkin is absolutely adorable and very brave too. She purred all the way home, perched on my shoulder.

She’s faring quite well, though. Eating well, drinking plenty of water and using the litterbox just fine. 

I told her she was NOT allowed to steal my heart! 

But this is how we woke up this morning  

 
How am I supposed to deal with THAT??!!! 

So the day ended up on a high note. The was some crying still but a lots of smiling and even some laughing at little Munchkin’s antics. 

Now if you excuse me, I have to go cause she’s currently trying to nurse from my right earlobe…

  

21 thoughts on “All in a day

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    Oh! Look at her! I want her so much! I’m very glad she has you to care for her.

    I don’t know how the Humane Society works up there, but if they post pictures on their site of adoptable animals, make sure they use the one of her asleep and curled up against your neck. She’ll have a home in less than five seconds. Plus the prospective human will already have an idea of the kind of kitty she is (very loving and affectionate), which will hopefully help to inform their decision about whether her needs and temperament match theirs.

    Unless I can have her. Can I have her? Are there rules against foreigners swooping in and doing international adoptions, like with human babies? Because I would take such good care of her, Claudia, and then you could still see pictures and hear all about her and know she is safe and getting all the love she deserves. . .

    And this is going to sound totally crazy, but I just realized I am completely serious. I honestly want to know what I need to do so she can be mine. I’ve been without a cat for almost ten years, and all at once seeing Munchkin I feel for the very first time in all those years like my heart is ready again. It’s like there’s something in her face that makes know we belong to to each other.

    And maybe it’s not so crazy. My sister found a picture of a kitty on the website of our local shelter, and she sent it to me. Both of us immediately felt it should be her cat, and ten years later they are still so very happy together.

    And I do get that going to Canada to adopt a cat is a bit extreme and most people would think I was nuts, but I just look at her little face and I swear she’s supposed to come live with me, that Munchkin and I are meant for each other. (Plus you and I could finally meet! )

    Would you ask about it next time you’re in contact with the Humane Society, and could you also give me their contact information? I do think they maybe would feel better if you talked to them first, since you know me and know I’m not some crackpot, but I want to be in touch so I have more time to plead my case to them. And I can find out what the rules are on the American side of it.

    (P.S. Don’t worry, I’m not hypo(manic). I really do get how out there this must seem, though hopefully not as much to you. But for years now I honestly thought I would never get another cat, I mean ever in my life, because the hurt that I felt since my two died (about a year apart) was simply too much for me, even ten years later. But looking at those pictures and hearing you describe her, I have no fear of being hurt. At least if I have, it’s normal way off in the distance fear, and however many years Munchkin and I would have together, I’d just be grateful for. The only fear I truly have is that for whatever reason I won’t be allowed to adopt her. I’ve seen so many pictures of so many cats, Claudia, and I’ve never for a moment felt like I do about little Munchkin there.)

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      Oh please DO adopt her! What a wonderful thing that would be! I would always know she’s loved and treated well!

      There are no rules for international adoption. People cross the border all the time with pets. All you need is the vet’s certificate of vaccination and that’s it!

      • Ruby Tuesday says:

        I cannot tell you how much that thrills me! Does she need to stay with you for a certain length of time? I don’t know if she needs special attention I’m not trained for since she’s so young. Let me know, meantime I will start working on all the practicalities of travel and transportation.

        Just don’t let anyone else try to claim her before I get there! ;)

        • Summer Solstice Girl says:

          The only hold up I can think of is her upper respiratory infection and she won’t be put up for adoption until she is completely healthy. But I am giving her the medication and lots of TLC and good food so she’ll be all healthy in no time. I have to take her to the shelter on August 22 and then the vet will decide if she stays there or if she comes back home with me for more convalescence time.

          • Ruby Tuesday says:

            Okay, good to know. Except if/when the vet says she’s well enough to be adopted, can you tell them I’ll already be on my way, money in my bag, litter box etc. ready for her in the car and when we get home? I just want them to know I am completely committed to this adoption and I need Munchkin specifically, no other cat will do. Will they hold onto her for me and not let someone else spirit her away? I can’t tell you why, because I can’t explain it to myself. But she is only the third creature (the other two were humans) for whom I got “The Feeling,” a clumsy way of saying that the moment I saw her I knew we belonged to each other completely.

            • Summer Solstice Girl says:

              I am very new to this humane society so I am not sure… I am afraid they’ll want the whole fee payed in fu but don’t take my word for it. I will find out, don’t worry.

              And hell, if you are coming, we might as well plan the wedding for that date too

        • Summer Solstice Girl says:

          Oh, she doesn’t need any special attention. She is fully weaned, eats wet and dry food, drinks water and is completely litter-trained. I even clipped her claws today and she was fine with it. Once she’s done with her med she won’t need anything else

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      And she’s such a sweetheart too. The only thing is that adoption are expensive here in Canada. Sid tells me adoptions in Lansing are $25. Here, they are $150 plus tax. That’s steep. But she’ll be spayed, microchipped and vaccinated

      • Ruby Tuesday says:

        That’s not really too expensive, when you take into account the spaying, microchipping, and vaccinations. I think the shelter where my sister got her cat charges $50, and that was about ten years ago, so I imagine it’s more now.

        In any case I’m happy to pay it. I haven’t even worked out the details (mostly about the trip, but also I need to find out on Monday how much the “pet deposit” is here — and I can’t imagine it would be so much I couldn’t cover it, *knock on wood*) but already I feel like she’s beginning to mine!

        I had no idea how much I needed her until I saw her this morning. Thank you for that.

        Oh, is she strictly an indoor cat, or does she go outside? All I have is a little balcony and i’m on the third floor, so if she’s used to roaming she’ll be disappointed.

        Also, you said she did well going home from the shelter, I’m guessing you used public transportation. I was wondering how you thought she might deal if I drove and took her home in the car. I could fly if absolutely necessary, but not only would I not like it for me, they would make me put her in a carrier and stick her down below the passenger cabins. I especially don’t want her to have to deal with all the noise and confusion, dogs barking, other cats crying out. I want her with me, you know?

        Whatever the solution, we’l find it. l love her so much already, even though like you I’m trying to restrain my excitement, just in case something happens to prevent the adoption. It’s not working very well, though. I still feel like she’s mine already, and I’m just waiting for her to come slinking in and announce she’s home.

        • Summer Solstice Girl says:

          Oh that makes me very happy. I think she’ll do just fine in the car. She wasn’t scared at all. Plus there are other tips I can give you. I can foster her for you until you can come but I suppose the adoption fee will have to be paid in order to do that. It’s ok. We can figure it out

          • Ruby Tuesday says:

            You are such a sweetheart! I have the money, if it comes to that I could send a wire transfer with the money through Western Union or something. But my summer is nice and open, so you can just let me know when she’s ready and I’ll come running. It’s about 17 hours between us, so while two days driving would be better, I could do it in one if it was necessary in any way.

            Oh my gosh. I just have to pause and take a deep breath to believe this is true. It’s one of the very most wonderful things that has happened to me!

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      I hear ya. I bawled my eyes out when the last litter left. I’m not going to lie to you. It is hard. But I find comfort in the knowledge that well socialized kittens are not only adopted quicker but they had better odds to not being returned or worse, dumped somewhere

  2. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Ruby, you are all at once amazing and wonderful and remarkable and sweet. I’m hoping against hope you can work out the details to bring Munchie home with you, not least in part because I’d finally get to meet you…

    Sadly, C, the photos here aren’t showing up on my screen. I figure I’ve seen them already, so it’s all good, but thought I should mention it.

    And you, Claudia my darling, are the most wonderfully loving and kind human I’ve ever known. Fostering kittens is a tough gig, since you have to give them up at some point, and I’m sure you cried and cried when the time came for Paddy and the rest. But you did it anyway and are doing it again, and I love you all the more for it, if that’s possible. Can’t wait to meet little Munchkin next week!

    • Summer Solstice Girl says:

      Oh? Thanks for letting me know. I can see them just fine but I am using my phone so I don’t know….

      And, aaaaaaaaaaw <3 <3 <3

      sniff, I still get all teary eyed when I look at the pictures and videos of Paddy and the others. But especially of sweet Paddy.

    • Ruby Tuesday says:

      Sid, I don’t know if I really deserve all your kind words and praise, especially because my motives here are completely selfish. That is, I fell in love with Munchkin and I need her and love her and want her as my roomie for always. (I can’t ever talk about owning a cat, because [as I imagine you understand] it doesn’t work that way. If anything, the cat owns you. ;) ) I have never really felt especially lonely living by myself, but now that I’ve seen her, it’s like I realized I’ve been living with a big Munchkin-sized hole in my heart and my life.

      I am so excited to meet you and Claudia as well! I haven’t met any blogger friends in a long time, so getting a two-for-one is wonderful — especially when those two are you and Claudia. :)

      I agree that Claudia is one hell of a kind, amazing woman with a super-sized heart to do what she does. I wouldn’t be strong enough to do it, that’s for sure. Hopefully, if everything works out (I have to keep telling myself “if” until it’s 110 % certain and Munchkin is in my arms and we are over the border and in the U.S. so my heart won’t take such a beating if something should get screwed up or not work out — the border officials to me seem like the greatest threat to my happiness on this one), Claudia won’t have to be quite so heartbroken at giving up Munchkin. She’ll know exactly the kind of person Munchkin is getting, and since Claudia and I will continue to be in touch anyway, I can give her updates and reports and share lots and lots of pictures!

Got something to say?

