I want my money back

  

  
I hate to be the one who ruins the party because truly for a good number of people thinking back to their childhood is a good thing. 

So I apologize. Especially if you are American. Don’t mind me. Have a good thanksgiving instead. 

But for me, there’s really no break. It’d be so nice to be able to close my eyes and think of when I was 12 and smile and feel all warm and fuzzy inside. If you have that, treasure it. 
But I had a good reason for hardly being able to wait to be older. Rather, a number of good reasons: Screams, nasty insults, tears, blood are but a few that come to mind.

A terrible thing not to have a time in your life you can look back at and feel safe and at peace.

Yeah, good times 

8 thoughts on “I want my money back

  1. purplemary54 says:

    You didn’t have an ordinary childhood, so I don’t think you’re ruining anyone’s party by not looking back at it. You’ve got wonderful people around you now, and more wonderful memories to make. You are blessed.

  2. tashakatt says:

    I totally get this. But I was lucky – no blood and a really good childhood until I was 6. Reading this, I realized just how much I clung/cling to any memories of those first years.

Got something to say?

