Things Are Happening

If you stumbled into my blog by any chance in the last couple of days, you might’ve seen it looks completely different.

If you read my latest post over at Geek Squared Art, you already know the Winds of Change are blowing my way. Again.

In 2014, I had a great idea. That crystallized as Geek Squared Art.

In 2015, life threw so many punches at me, I honestly thought that for the first time in my life I was not going to survive them. Geek Squared Art lay dormant the whole year.

But I did survive.

So in 2016, I’m going to make it happen.

Do more of what makes you happy

I’m following my own advice

I have immersed myself in web design learning.  I’m making tremendous progress by the hour. [thank goodness for free tutorials on the intertubes].

As part of my learning, I am going to sorta use my personal blog (this one) as learning grounds for now. Maybe later I’ll create another one if I feel I’m disturbing this one too much. But for now, you’ll all get to see my learning improvement first! Isn’t that exciting??!!!

I discovered Canva on the weekend via one of the tutorials.

I was very excited about the find but I got bored with it already. They have absolutely great tools to help you create social media posts but as every free service, the tools are limited. You can check out the Facebook covers I made for G²A, Little Miss Satchie and Summer Solstice Musings if you want. I know I could upload the pictures here and save you the trouble but they look very funny without the stuff Facebook puts on them. In order to get the full experience, you really have to see them there.

Ever since I started doing the Social Media for Swing Dynamite (*gulp* I still can’t think of the school without getting a knot in my throat) I’ve been wanting to learn how to make my own graphics. Actually, scratch that… hold on… There, scratched. Ever since I started blogging, I wanted to make my own graphics because I have these great mental pictures for illustrations for every post I make but I can never bring them to life because I don’t have the means to do so.

I’ve considered getting Illustrator® for so long but what always holds me back is the cost of it. You can’t even buy the software and be done with it. They don’t sell it. You have to get a subscription and then pay monthly for the rest of your life!

However, I am seriously considering taking that leap of faith now. See what I can do without to make room for it in my budget. We’ll see.

In the mean time, feel free to peruse this site or the  G²A one. There is still so much to do for the latter, though. It is cute and it looks great (or so I was told by a web designer) and I am rather proud of it considering I didn’t know much about about web designing last week. But do keep in mind I am just learning so don’t expect too much of it :)

Both sites are still free blogs from WordPress but the idea is to make them look like a fancy website instead of a blog.

Also, please let me know of any broken links, typos or errors of any kind. I will immensely appreciate it!

3 thoughts on “Things Are Happening

Got something to say?

