Happy [belated] International Women’s Day

March is a momentous month for me.

Well, momentous might be a bit of an exaggeration.

But many things happen in March for me. The birthday of one of my oldest friends on the fifth. My grandmother’s birthday on the 20th. My daughter’s birthday on the 25th.

And then there is International Women’s Day on the 8th.

IWD is a bittersweet celebration. In fact, it is a celebration that shouldn’t be. Because women – and people- should be celebrated, appreciated, valued, etc, every day of the year, not just on March 8.

We all know that, right?

Well, not really. Many men haven’t got the memo yet.

However, the world is changing. The wheels are in motion. I can feel it in my soul. Perhaps my generation won’t see it, but I have hope that the next, my children’s will.

I made a few thingies [of course I did] to commemorate the day:

Women's Day

A sad, sad (and disgraceful and enraging, and even worse, ongoing) chapter in Canadian history

Women's Day 2

IWD 2016 - Little Miss Satchie

Made this for Little Miss Satchie’s page. Because Cat Ladies!

So, happy [belated] International Women’s Day to all girls and women (cis, trans, tall, short, big-breasted, flat-chested, religious, atheist, black, brown, white, straight, gay, with curves, without curves, single, married, divorced, all of them) in the world.

Notes

* To learn more about the missing and murdered Indigenous women, please go to the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls page. And then please take the pledge.

** To learn about the International Women’s Day 2016 campaign theme, hop over to the Pledge For Parity page. I pledged to challenge conscious and unconscious bias. What would you pledge?

 

 

Got something to say?

