Happy Holi

I have black friends that I deeply love. I have brown friends that I deeply love. I have white friends that I deeply love.

I have straight friends that I deeply love. I have a gay friends that I deeply love. I have bisexual friends that I deeply love.

I have very Catholic friends that I deeply love. I have very atheists friends that I deeply love. I have Muslim friends that I deeply love. I could go on naming every single religion but I think you get my drift.

I have male friends that I deeply love. I have very female friends that I deeply love. I have gender-fluid friends that I deeply love. I do not – however- have the privilege to count any transgender person as my friends. This is sad.

This is not a hypothetical exercise. Or a cheesy attempt to ingratiate myself with any given demographic.

But the fact that I feel compelled to say it is very telling of the state of the world.

I do have friends from all creeds and ways of life. I don’t choose my friends according to their religion – or lack thereof – the way they look or how they see themselves. I choose my friends according to the way they treat others and the world we live in.

Being religious or atheist or straight or gay or black or brown or white has nothing to do with the quality and the stature of your being. Being religious or atheist or straight or gay or black or brown or white does not protect you or shield you from assholeness or intolerance. Being religious or atheist or straight or gay or black or brown or white does not make you instantly tolerant or compassionate.

Do not fall into the trap of believing yourself above flaw and above others because of your beliefs, your skin colour or your gender orientation. They do not make you better than the rest of the world.

Your actions, the way you treat others – animals included-, what you are doing in order to leave a better world for future generations than the one you were handed. That is what makes you a better person. That is what raises you from the mud.
Today, on the celebration of Holi, I want to take a moment to wish you all love, understanding and tolerance.

The colorful festival of Holi is celebrated on Phalgun Purnima which comes in February end or early March. Holi festival has an ancient origin and celebrates the triumph of ‘good’ over ‘bad’. The colorful festival bridges the social gap and renew sweet relationships. On this day, people hug and wish each other ‘Happy Holi’.

From holifestival.org

We are all one with the world. Our actions shape our reality. It is in our hands to change the way things work.

Happy Holi!

Let the colours shower joy over you.

PS: Also, my thoughts are with the survivors of the bombing in Brussels and their families as well as with the families of those who died. As they are with the people in Turkey, Syria, and South Sudan

PPS: I meant to make a pretty graphic but Illustrator keeps crashing on me. After two hours, I have come to the conclusion that the message is more important than the image so this post is going live with photo instead. Proper (I hope) credit is given . I may or may not add a graphic later, if I can convince both my laptop and Illustrator to grow the eff up and play nice with each other.

Got something to say?

