Bitter-sweet times

Quick update.

My son is here with me.  Finally.

He arrived in Canada on Tuesday but stayed in Toronto for a few days (which he forgot to mention before he got there) for a couple of interviews at the University of Toronto.

A few weeks back he mentioned in passing -very casually, that he might try and transfer his credits to a Canadian university.  He’s currently doing the equivalent of an honours degree in History and Political Science in our hometown.

I didn’t know what to make of that cause he had repeatedly said he would never leave Colombia again.  I didn’t want to get my hopes up and since he was so casual about it, I decided not to get excited.

Now that he’s finally in Ottawa with me, we went for a little walk and had a little chat.

Things are bad.  He’s in the middle of a depressive episode.  It hurts so much to see him like that.  Damn my stupid, effing genes.

But that’s not all.  He said he can’t wait to get out of Colombia.  No, his actual words were “I NEED to get out of Colombia”.  That’s where my heart skipped a beat.

He’s been threatened.  Again.  His life is in danger.  Probably the only thing is his favour is his Canadian passport.  They think it twice before acting on a North American citizen.  But in the end, it won’t stop them.  In Colombia, if you speak up your mind and they don’t like it, they kill you.  End of the story.  It doesn’t matter if you are comedian, a soccer player, a presidential candidate, or a university student.  They kill you just the same.

So my son is with me for a week and a half.  Then he goes back to that god-forsaken country.

And then what?

25 thoughts on “Bitter-sweet times

  1. clownonfire says:

    SSG,
    Well, now that he expressed his wishes to be out of Colombia, what are his chances of staying with you in Ottawa? I’m sorry he’s having such a hardtime. At least he has you, at this very moment.
    Le Clown

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      I’m gonna try to convince him to not go back but I don’t think I have a good chance of succeeding because there’s the not so little matter of a certain girlfriend.

      But he talked to people at University of Western Ontario so we’re gonna try and go next week. Now that I know, I’ll start looking for programs here in Canada.

      Wish me luck! :(

  2. purpleowltree1234 says:

    Haing grown up among communism and terror, I ache for your son, and for you and how you are both feeling right now. I hope he can come back to Canada. Permanently, or for as long as he needs to recover before he goes some other place that is safe. I thank you for writing honestly about Colombia here. People who haven’t lived in a place like that have so little understanding of it. It is good to let peope know the truth. And of course there are amazing and beautiful things about Colombia too. *caring* hugely. Love from Rach.

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Thank you! <3

      Yes, Colombia is a beautiful country with beautiful people. And when I say beautiful I don't mean good looking, I mean the real beautiful, loving, caring, giving people. But there's also a lot of bad people there. I know I sound cliche and silly but I don't know how else to explain it.

      If it wasn't for all the social injustice, poverty and all the problems associated with it, it'd truly be a paradise.

  3. Madame Weebles says:

    What a horrible situation, SSG. Is there any way that maybe your son’s girlfriend can leave Colombia too, and also go to a school in Canada? Hearing this sort of thing makes me remember how different things are in other countries. It’s a sobering thought.

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Slim to none.

      There are to ways:

      1. If my son to marries her and then sponsors her.

      2. She claims refugee status. I don’t know if she’s been threatened too.

      Otherwise, it is virtually impossible for a Colombian citizen to get a visa -even a visitor one, nowadays.

  4. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Wow, Claudia. You’re a strong woman, and I bet you passed on those genes as well. I am hoping for the best for you both, and praying for you both – something I don’t do often enough or well enough, but there it is all the same.

  5. saradraws says:

    I hope he gets his ass over here a.s.a.p. I don’t care how old you are, you need family near. Unless their a bunch of dillholes…which you are not. You must be freaking out.

Got something to say?

