A kiss To Build The Dream On

Today, the Louis Armstrong Facebook page posted a link for one of my favourite Satchmo ballads.

It is not a secret that I love Louis Armstrong. Why, even one of my cats is named after him. As a Swing DJ, I have an extensive Armstrong collection. There’s an Armstrong song for pretty much about every situation in life. Happy songs, sad songs, playful songs, heartbreak songs, love songs, silly songs. Songs about food (his other passion), songs about the weather, songs about his home town.  You name it.

Beautiful Satchmo with his contagious smile.

Beautiful song too.

Who hasn’t dreamed of a kiss? Who hasn’t weaved romances when alone with their fancies? Louis knew the human condition very well.

Imagine how wonderful it would be to dance with your darling to this song! And then get a kiss before you go home so you can dream some more.

Por una mirada, un mundo;
por una sonrisa, un cielo;
por un beso… ¡Yo no sé
qué te diera por un beso!

RIMA XXIII

Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer

Translation

For a glance, a world;

for a smile, a heaven;

for a kiss…I do not know

what I would give you for a kiss.

13 thoughts on “A kiss To Build The Dream On

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      Isn’t it awesome? I grew up reading Bécquer. I have to say it screwed me up for life, though. It made me an incurable romantic :)

      Perhaps I’ll make a whole series of posts about his rhymes…

  1. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    This post made me a fan of Bécquer. Just like that. All of his work I find on the kindle is in Spanish, so I’ll be hitting up my library for something in English. Hoping!

Got something to say?

