My New Thing

Planning #GeekSquaredWed (Yes, I did just use a hashtag), has taken me to an unexpected journey. Unfortunately not that kind of unexpected journey. Dwarves and Wizards are yet to knock of my door but I haven’t lost hope. And to be honest, I’d rather have elves knocking on my door, anyway. I’m more into singing to the stars than into digging in mines for jewels.

Anyway, journey. Yes.

Long story short, one of the things I ended up doing was signing in for a DeviantART account (and this is going to make Sidlet 1 very happy as she had been wanting me to do so for quite a while). Another one was dabbling in digital art.


I had very much on purpose avoided to get Photoshop. I’ve been using free tools all along. A few years back I tried Gimp for Swing Dynamite projects but I found it difficult to work with. Very counter-intuitive for me. That is still what my daughter uses for most of the printed marketing for the school but I don’t know why, I just couldn’t deal with it.

But, fine. I give in. I will get photoshop and I will learn how to use it cause making these little thingies is a lot of fun!

Huh, and from what I can see from the preview, my silly love birds appear with a black background and I have NO idea why. Some else to learn, I guess..

But here they are. As you can see, they are very simple. I would even dare say primitive. But I sure had fun making them even if most of it was just copy and paste, and flip horizontally and vertically and stuff.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 thoughts on “My New Thing

  1. savemefrombpd says:

    HELLO!? That is SERIOUSLY cute and cool! I’m not just saying it! Take it from someone that studied art, haha, albeit didn’t finish her studies but, it’s all good. And I love the black background. It makes everything stand out wonderfully. Makes a great contrast with all the lovely colours.

    Keep us updated with your Photoshop learning and let us see what you create on there!

    Keep up the great work! x

  2. Laura P. Schulman, MD, MA says:

    Good on ye’ for taking on such an adventurous, uh, adventure (at your age, LOL)! I’m sure it would take something of wedding magnitude to convince ME to suddenly start puttering about in computer graphics. RE:#Hashtags, why do I keep seeing #GeekS2Wed? Yeah, I
    know you can’t put a superscript in
    a hashtag, but you can always use it
    as a password for something if you don’t like it as a hashtag. Or not. You don’t have to use it at all! Just give it to the elves, they’ll know what to do with it…

  3. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    #keepcalmandmarryon

    I can’t let this go, being that I have to live up to my geek rep:
    The owl picture? With the crescent moon? The one with the star appearing even though it’s behind the unlit part of the moon? Yeah, that.

Got something to say?

