A quarter Century

My daughter turned 25 today. TWENTY-FIVE!

How did that happen? It feels like yesterday when we celebrated her first birthday.

I decided we should make a big deal out of her first quarter of a century – and because, really, anything is a good excuse for a good party, I declared this past weekend a Nataliapalooza and celebrate we did.

Nataliapalooza Day 1 started on Friday when I woke her up with this card

B-Day card - front B-Day card - inside

She said that I had “found the best mother to daughter B-Day card! It’s like you had it made especially for us”.

Then we got to work like any other day but in the evening we started the real celebrations with a surprise party at a Latin Club.

IMG_6246

This is her, arriving at the club and realizing it was a surprise party

We had tons of fun dancing salsa, merengue and vallenato till the wee hours of the morning. I had three drinks and was terribly hung over the next day.

Nataliapalooza Day 3 started with me not being able to find my pajamas until my daughter kindly pointed out that they were right beside me. I requested some advil, had birthday cake for breakfast (with lots of coffee) and went back to bed for a while. Then she went over to her boyfriend’s and I sneaked out to the studio to prepare for the evening.

My daughter got her birthday present at our weekly dance, after the compulsory Birthday Jam. The birthday Jam is a tradition in the Lindy Hop world where everybody make a big circle and take turns to dance with the birthday person, jam style.

IMG_6349

She sees the bike…

IMG_6365

Then we go for a spin around the dance floor

This is what she wrote on Facebook later that night:

I have in my possession the most beautiful bike there ever was!! Thank you to all who made that possible :)

Nataliapalooza Day 3 was laid back because she worked from 12:30 pm – 10:00 pm. What a long day. She was exhausted and just wanted to take a bath and go to bed.

On Nataliapalooza Day 4 we had our traditional birthday brunch at Tucker’s where brunch is free on your birthday. We go there every year on her birthday and my birthday. Good stuff.

20130325-205309.jpg

After stuffing ourselves with yummy food, we headed over to the mall for some window shopping and a much needed digestive stroll. We had fun trying on stuff and walking around.

20130325-205254.jpg

Finally, we had a very nice walk home on a gorgeous late afternoon. The weather could not have been any more perfect too. Sunny and crisp.

That ends Nataliapalooza 2013.

My daughter is at a Seder dinner with her boyfriend. And if you excuse me, I’m going to have a slice of that yummy birthday cake and then go to bed!

Chag Sameach to those of you who celebrate Pesach

14 thoughts on “A quarter Century

    • SummerSolsticeGirl says:

      I agree that 25 is a big deal. That’s why I wanted to make it extra special. The next one will be 50 and I may not have the strength to be planning any parties (or even be around) when that happens ;)

  1. Lunch Sketch says:

    Happy Birthday, Natalia. You are very beautiful. Clearly a gift passed on to you by someone equally beautiful 25 year ago.

    Oh yeah Claudia … if ever the day comes when you are organising my March celebrations … please note that I would not survive 3 days! I could feel myself getting tense just reading your post! ;-)

  2. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Those are fabulous photos. I’ll admit to chuckling while catching all your FB posts from that weekend – you crazy Colombian Canucks!

    Pretty sure I never got any wishes in, though, so… happy birthday, N!

Got something to say?

