Time to give thanks

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of this posts. The title might be a little misleading and if so, I apologize.

I am indeed thankful for many things. For being in Canada, for example where I can dress the way I want, I can speak up, I can walk alone without fearing for my life, where I am not afraid that someone with a firearm will shoot me while I’m at the movies or a bomb will go off at the mall where I’m shopping. Where I have access to an education. It is so unforgivable that still now, in the 21st century, it’s so hard to be a woman in so many parts of the planet. So I’m certainly thankful for that.

But this post is about giving thanks for some neat blogging awards I received in the last couple of days.

The first one is the Reality Award, given to me by Anita from The Bipolar Dance. She says I deserve it so I’m going to go ahead and graciously accept it. Mainly because she got it first and I really think her blog is all those things.

Here are the instructions for the award:

  1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you ☑
  2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back to them ☑
  3. Answer the 5 questions presented – ☑ (see answers below)
  4. Nominate up to 20 blogs for the award and notify them on their blogs  ☑
  5. Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere ☑ (it’s in my sidebar)

Now, the difficult part. Should I be honest or should I sugar-cover it and write what I would answer in an ideal world?  But then again, I am I what I am. Those who have been following this blog know that I always keep it real here. So, on to the answers then.

  • If you could change one thing what would you change?

This one is tricky. Is it about changing one thing in my life? Or changing one thing about the way the world works? If it’s the latter, I don’t know… I get so angry when I think about the way the world works and its injustice, violence and greed that I’d probably end up changing evolution so mankind would never have existed. How could I change just one thing in the modern world without changing the existence of the inquisition, for example. Or the raping and pilfering that follows every human war since the dawn of men. But if pressed for an answer for a chance in our era, I’d say I’d get rid of inequality of any kind. Of gender, of sexual orientation, you name it. No inequality for anyone.

Now, it it is the former, that’s even more difficult. I’ve spend many a waking moment thinking what I would change, given a time machine or a tardis of sorts. The first one was obvious. I’d go back and save my mother. But then that doesn’t change the years of abuse before her death. Then I decided I’d go back enough to prevent my birth. Maybe by cancelling the wedding or even by preventing my parents from ever meeting. That would be good. Or maybe I would even go further back and change the circumstances of her birth so she would have have a nice life. A win-win situation. She would have been happy and I would have never been born.

If you could repeat an age, what would it be?

None of it. Why would I want to live such a painful life all over again? I’m already living against my will. Reliving things would just be really mean.

What one thing really scares you?

I used to be really scared of the darkness. Now I can sleep with the lights off on most nights. But I’m still frequently scared of going to sleep. I don’t have nightmares every single night anymore but they’re still frequent enough to make me afraid of going to sleep.

What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it?

I once dreamed of becoming a great scientist and discovering the cure for many ailments. I almost did it. I got my MD degree and even started my PhD in Cellular & Molecular Medicine here in Canada. I dreamed of having my own lab with grad and undergrad students and to teach and inspire new generations of young scientists to follow my lead in bettering the quality of life everywhere. That dream crashed and burned. It’ll never happen.

If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be?

Another tricky one. I could be selfish and wish to be pain-free for a day. To be a normal person. Or I could be unselfish and be a time traveller (See answer No. 1, part 2)

Now the nominations. I nominate all my fellow authors over at A Canvas Of The Minds. That’s 17 bloggers in total. They are all amazingly inspiring bloggers that sure know about keeping it real when it comes to Mental Illness and Mental Health. Please forgive me if I don’t include the individual links, after all, there’s 17 of them ;)

Then NZ Cate from Infinite Sadness… Or Hope gave me the One Lovely Blog Award:

I am very glad that Cate thinks my blog is lovely. Sometimes I think it is too sad, too dark. But I guess there are bouts of silliness, cuteness and laughter here and there so that’s good!

The rules are:

  1. Display the award logo on your blog ☑
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you ☑
  3. State seven things about yourself ☑
  4. Nominate fifteen other bloggers for this award and link to them ☑
  5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements ☑

Seven things about me (I guess it should be something you don’t know already from reading my blog, right?):

  1. I’m ambidextrous but I much rather write and eat with my left hand.
  2. In school, I used to take notes from right to left in a way that you needed a mirror (or good spatial skills) to read them.
  3. I am the happiest when I’m surrounded by nature. And water.
  4. I don’t fit with people but I’m very comfortable with animals.
  5. Children and animals love me and follow me for some reason.
  6. I am terribly honest. Don’t ask me what I think unless you are fully prepared to hear the truth.
  7. I get drunk with one glass of wine. Half if I haven’t had anything to eat in a while.

As for the nominations, I’m going to cheat a little. It’s 5:30 in the morning and I still haven’t gone to bed so I can’t really think of 15 other lovely bloggers. So while I’m sure I follow at least five times more lovely blogs than just 15, I’m just going to go ahead and nominate only a few. Hope you can forgive this little trespassing of the rules.

Dad Knows

Hands on Bowie

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks…

on the road with Animalcouriers

Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks…

on the road with Animalcouriers

Very lovely blogs. Hope you visit them and see for yourself.

And that’s about it.

Good night everyone :)

18 thoughts on “Time to give thanks

  1. Herman says:

    Thank you for this nomination. Much appreciated! Bowie says “Meow!”, I guess it means “Let’s get the party started!”

  2. Anita S says:

    Congratulations on the Lovely Blog award! Regarding #2 on your list of facts: When I was 11 or 12 I started practicing writing backwards with my left hand. I never was very good at it, but when it came to *reading* upside down and / or backwards, I acquired considerable skill. Reading print that way is easy; reading cursive handwriting is more difficult (depending on how bad the other person’s handwriting is, LOL). But it’s a useful skill sometimes, especially since people don’t know I can do it! ;-)

  3. Sid Dunnebacke says:

    Oh, this was difficult to read, SSG – even though none of that was new to me (I’m paying attention, you know), it was still hard to read. Well, the business of writing right to left was new. You get more impressively intellectual all the time!

    Anyway – thank you for the shout out! My ego is a level higher now, and I’m looking forward to checking out your other friends’ work.

    ~

    Nature. Animals. Yeah.

Got something to say?

